We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and friendly place to stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onekama
Lennon, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A warm and friendly place to stay...”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We look forward to the Sleighbell Victorian Christmas weekend in Manistee Michigan because that is the time of year when our family and friends gather at the Alpine Lodge for the first
full weekend in Dec. The Lodge Is the perfect place to stay. The owners are awesome people that make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you. We love having your group here. I'm sorry we didn't have snow while you were here. It started snowing after you left and hasn't stopped yet!! Merry Christmas to you and yours. We hope to see you all again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have the opportunity to stay at the Alpine Motor Lodge a few times a year. We like the facility and use is as our base for the annual weekends of fishing in the Onekma & Brethren, Michigan area every summer and fall. The rooms are clean, have AC & a televisions. Yes the rooms may be a little dated but the affordable rates & friendly staff and service more that make up for it. If you are looking for something upscale there are lots of private lodges & lake homes available in the area for $200 to $400 a night. Jerry and Sandy are great owners & even have a freezer you can put your "catch of the Day" in til you are ready to return home. We had never fished on the rivers in the area and were new to salmon fishing and they put us in touch with Rob McMurray Fish of A Lifetime Guide Services. (248) 930-2 8 1 7 Great Guide & Great Experience http://www.fishofalifetimeadventures.com or https://www.facebook.com/rob.mcmurray.77/about Great place will will continue to stay at!!!! Thanks Jerry & Sandy!!! PS: Andy's Tackle Box in Brethren is a must see too. They have a fish cleaning service & the Hog Wild BBQ Stand is the best!

Room Tip: They have rooms that sleep up to 8 people so it depends what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roccavivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We are so glad you had a good time. We enjoy getting to know our guests and quite often they turn into friends for a lifetime! (There is no Sandy here, I assume you meant Barb.) Glad the fishing worked out for you. Make sure you send me pictures, I will post them on our wall and/or our website. Andy's does a great job cleaning fish (much better than doing it yourself). We look forward to seeing you again. Barb & Jerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Apparently there are ''remodeled rooms" at this place. We did NOT get one. Maybe the other reviewers did. Sinks, tub, shower doors, and room door, were all ancient dark green. We stayed one night and I didn't take a shower. The plastic shower door tracks were filthy and it was just dark and creepy in the shower, I've never seen a tub/shower like this and I'm 65! The door knob to our room was sticky and hard to get into the room. On the positive side: large room, frig, and good breakfast and we don't mind painted paneling. Bed was fine. I would suggest you don't use the rooms that aren't remodeled. Or at least lower the rate. We paid $90.00 with the senior rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJP201365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The motel was built in 1972 and yes, the bathroom fixtures are either harvest gold or olive green. (I can't believe you've never seen them before!) The green does make the bathrooms seem dark which is one of the reasons why we are slowly getting away from them. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms so I wish you had said something while you were here and we would have corrected any cleaning issues. Thank you for taking the time to bring these things to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed one night at this motel. The owners were very friendly. They had a very nice outdoor swimming pool. They even had a handicapped accessible pool lift. The main problems with the room was that the table in the room had beverage rings that were a bit sticky indicating that the table had not been wiped. Everything in the room is very old. The room had a smell of old cigarette smoke. The mattress was okay but the box springs were turning color from age. The room simply was lightly cleaned. Corners and behind tables need to be better addressed. Very old bathtub, showers, and sinks. This place has a lot of potential. The rooms are HUGE. They come with a microwave and fridge. It just had a feel of being unclean. If you are not picky about a little age and wear...and a bit of dirt here and there, this place is for you. We would give this place another try.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed our little town and our restaurants! But, we are sorry you were disappointed in your room. We started remodeling rooms last year. Next time you come, specify that you'd like a remodeled room. They are really nice. I am going to check out the beds in the room you were in because they are under warranty from Serta. If it is a bad bed, I will have to give the rep. a call. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

best place to get away and have fun jerry and sandy are great owners the room was very clean thanks again clyde and bonnie will plan on seeing them next year in july around the fourth maybe willtake atrip yhis fall and stay there in sept

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clyde s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Yeah!!! Glad everything was good. We'd love to see you in the fall. Our trees are absolutely stunning then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Pier, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Needed overnight accommodations to make an early morning engagement nearby. We received a friendly welcome even though arriving late. Our room was spacious. We were comfortable. It was quiet. No, the furnishings and décor were not the latest fashion, but the rate reflects this. More importantly to us was that room was neat and clean, and we were treated as guests. I have stayed in the Manistee area two other times with better-known chains and while the rates were double that of the Alpine, the value and level of hospitality received certainly was not. I will definitely overnight here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are glad you felt welcome. We are not employees, we actually own the motel, and we really do enjoy our guests! Thank you and please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very pleased to find this lovely, extremely well-kept and user friendly hotel tucked away in this hills of upstate Michigan. Close to Bear Lake and just a jog from Interlochen Art Academy; it was truly a delight to stay there. Although not the newest of amenities, the hotel was quiet, spacious and clean. The rooms were well planned out and the beds comfortable. There was also a lovely pool and playground equipment for small children which looked safe and well maintained. Be aware that the continental breakfast does not begin until 8 a.m.

Room Tip: The rooms w two queen beds were spacious and inviting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwandfriends, Owner at Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay! Even though the weekend was a little cool, it was still a beautiful. We thank you for your review and hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onekama
9.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
19.5 mi away
Northwoods Lodging
Northwoods Lodging
#2 of 4 in Beulah
45 reviews
11.8 mi away
Days Inn Manistee
Days Inn Manistee
#4 of 10 in Manistee
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Hotel Frankfort
The Hotel Frankfort
#2 of 2 in Frankfort
151 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bella Vista Inn
Bella Vista Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Lake
55 reviews
10.3 mi away
Super 8 Manistee
Super 8 Manistee
#1 of 10 in Manistee
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host

Property: Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host
Address: 8127 US Chippewa Hwy, PO Box 366, Onekama, MI 49614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Onekama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Onekama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd love to have you at the Inn at the Alpine (Formerly the Alpine Motor Lodge) just north of Manistee on US-31 and one mile east of Onekama and Portage Lake. Located in the country, our all ground-floor property has 25 spacious air-conditioned rooms with at-your-door parking, queen beds, in-room coffee and refrigerators. Bring your toys: we have plenty of free parking! We can create a package for you with golf or charter fishing, or you can relax with our playground, outside pool, picnic tables and grills, and our very own little miniature golf course all available for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at the Alpine by Budget Host reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing