We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepared to our liking.”
Review of The Glenwood

The Glenwood
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Onekama
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Prepared to our liking.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We have been regulars at the Glenwood for over 10 years. We try to visit as frequently as possible when in nearby Bear Lake. Try to get a porch table as there is not air conditioning inside. All the food is fresh, delicious and "prepared to your liking". Recommend the woodland salad, almond shrimp, blue cheese steak, petitie filet, chicken pesto or ravioli. Really its all delicious and save room for dessert. Worth the drive and by far the best place in the Onekama region.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AltoDiva51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    19
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a summer evening...”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The setting is a charming older home across from Portage Lake. The ambience is rustic elegance. We sat on the screend porch which was ideal on a perfect Michigan summer evening. Hundreds of birds singing, the lake was lovely and the sun was setting.

The menu was varied and they offered several specials and a decent wine list. The Blu Cheese sauce on our small fillet mignon was very nice and when I opted for broccoli instead of a potato or rice, I got a generous portion of fresh, cooked crispy tender. Our salads were very average, but good. The dessert tray was a amazing with all items being made in house (they are also famous for baked goods). The desserts were wonderful. The wait staff competent, knowledgeble and very friendly.

It was a wonderful experience and we definitely will return. Highly reccomend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompsonville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worth the drive”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

It's practically impossible to have a substandard dining experience at the Glenwood. Like many places in N. Michigan you have to drive a bit to reach it, but it's worth it. The standard menu doesn't vary a lot, but every entree is done to perfection. If you like beef the filet with blue cheese is wonderful. Appetizers are always tempting, especially the baked brie, but we skip those in order to save room for dessert. Their dessert tray has the best selection in N. Michigan and is treated as an integral part of the meal, not an afterthought.

Service is always attentive, the setting is perfect, and try to sit on the screened porch in the warmer months. Whether you're staying at Crystal Mountain or golfing at Arcadia Bluffs, make the trip to Onekama for this special dining experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Whole Package”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This restaurant has it all: Great food, friendly staff, wonderful service, nice presentation, a lake view (if you're outside or in the porch seating), and a casual peaceful slow-paced dining experience. We went to this place on the recommendation of someone, and we were happy we did! It is in a quaint little lake town called Onekama, in a quiet residential area next to houses on Portage Lake. We had a delicious brie brushcetta appetizer, homemade multigrain bread, fresh parmesan encrusted whitefish and potatoes, the woodland saldad (must try!), and even though we shared all of this between my husband and myself, we couldn't fit dessert because it was so much delicious food! And boy were we sorry because there was a tray of about 15-20 homemade delectable desserts shown to us that definitely made us want to return and save room for dessert next time!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank celticrockgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Bet for a Special Evening”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My wife and I plan to retire in Onekama. The village is an undiscovered gem and the restaurants are among its best attractions. You couldn't get a bad meal in this town if you tried. Traverse City has developed a well deserved reputation as one of the best small city foodie destinations in the United States and people drive 50 miles from Traverse City to have dinner in Onekama. Every dining room in town deserves an Excellent rating. The Glenwood is our choice for something special. Its a bit pricier than some of the others but still quite reasonable. The menu tends to be "French" and everything on it is exquisitely prepared. The location is great too, a stone's throw from Portage Lake. Call ahead. Tables can be hard to come by in season. Designate a driver so everyone else in your party can relish the wine list. It is exceptional. And save room for dessert. The pastries are calorie rich and so good you won't care that you're getting fat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank dhwilliams51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glenwood also viewed

 
Onekama, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 

Been to The Glenwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing