We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel close to MSU and I-96” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn East Lansing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn East Lansing
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Okemos
United States
Level Contributor
134 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to MSU and I-96”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We were in town visiting college friends and decided to redeem points at the Fairfield. Overall, our stay was positive, staff were polite, and the room was well-appointed.

When we arrived mid-evening, no one was at the desk. After waiting a while, we eventually used the house phone to call reception, and the man working the front desk answered. He explained he was the only one there at the time, and apologized for the delay. He asked us if we still wanted two queen beds, and after we indicated our preference for a King, he assigned us to a small King suite. The room was slightly larger than others on the floor and had a small sofa, coffee table, microwave, and refrigerator.

The bed was comfy and the room was clean. There was a small bottle of water and bag of cookies on the desk.

Admittedly, there were a couple of oddities... First, the bathroom vent switch was locked "on". We wondered why, but then we noticed that the shower curtain didn't reach down to the edge of the tub, so water spilled out when we took showers in the morning. Second, even though the bathroom fan was always on, the fan in the room *could not* be turned on, and was hard-wired to "auto". The room became somewhat stuffy, so we lowered the temperature to compensate. I can't imagine the A/C bills at this place if everyone is doing what we did, and the A/C and heat is being sucked out through the bathroom 24/7.

Breakfast was good, with tasty scrambled eggs and sausage. When the orange juice ran out, it was promptly refilled.

Overall, we had a good stay and would return. Hopefully the hotel will invest in taller shower curtains (or lower the bar by an inch) so the showers don't flood and they can stop running the bathroom vents 24/7.

Room Tip: The "suites" are slightly larger than a regular room and nice if you want a fridge/microwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear TheInternationalLine,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott, East Lansing! We truly appreciate your patronage, and hope to provide you a room that reflects the highest quality standards expected from the Marriott brand should you visit the Lansing area again. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
31
11
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
214 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I loved the hotel and the location is terrific. The light switch in the bathroom is locked in position so that an occupancy sensor in the bathroom ceiling turns on the light whether you want it or not. In the middle of the night, it's obnoxious to have a bright light flipped on. Everything else was great - I was greeted warmly, given a nice room, and found the hotel exceptionally quiet. The next morning, there was plenty of fresh fruit and yogurt, as well as the usual breakfast items. I was surprised to see an entire baseball team of young men - I didn't hear any noise the night before, so the hotel must do a good job of enforcing noise rules or else had me stay in another part of the hotel. The breakfast area was spotless. There was an attendant there the entire time and she greeted every guest and made us feel truly welcome.

Room Tip: When you exit I-96, Woodlake Drive is easy to spot if you look for the Cracker Barrel. Leaving I-96...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
It was a pleasure to read your review about your stay with us! I am so glad that you found the staff, the breakfast, the location and the hotel overall to be satisfactory. I will pass along the the great comments to the staff and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for the first time. When attempting to open the front door, it stuck on the cement, but we were able to access the lobby.
The lobby was attractive and welcoming, but there was a huge party of men sitting in an adjoining room, who were a bit boisterous but not inappropriate. We were greeted very warmly at check-in, and we found her very helpful.
There is no elevator in the building, so if you have a lot of luggage, be prepared to carry it upstairs.
Our room was clean and large, and had all the amenities: coffee pot (single cup), microwave, and refrigerator. The beds were very comfortable, and the heating system worked perfectly. The sink was in an alcove, while the commode and shower were in another room. Unfortunately, there are no switches to the bathroom - if you open the door, the bright light turns on, as well as the loud fan. If you need to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, you will be awakened by the light and noise. This was very annoying and stupid. We had not seen anything like this before, and we hope we never do!
While this is no fault of the hotel, there was a group of young female athletes staying there, and neither parents or chaperones cared to contain them. They were screaming, running up and down the hall, and pounding on doors till midnight. We did not fall asleep until that stopped, but then when one of us needed the bathroom, we were awakened again due to the light and fan.
Perhaps in the future, it would be wise of any hotel having groups stay with them to be given some behavioral rules, as obviously, some people can't parent or care to control kids.
As for the breakfast, it was a full complimentary treat, except some of the main food was gone without being replaced when we arrived at 7:30 a.m. There was no hot water for tea, either. Finally, after we were finished with what we did eat, the main foods were brought in.
Also, at breakfast, some people of the sports group came to the dining area in their pajamas and barefoot - including at least one Mother. It was revolting! Sad to say that due to some people being ignorant of common decency, hotels may need to set guidelines on how people should dress when entering an eating establishment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We strive to make each guest stay the best possible and with the feedback you have given us we can conitnue to improve and deliver a great hotel experience for all of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked 3 rooms, one of which was for reward points from a credit card. Check in was a breeze and we were please with how large the room was, with fridge and sofa bed. The breakfast was a nice hot one, no surprises. We had planned on the pool for the kids, but they were asleep when we arrived. It looked nice and is a plus. Overall, a nice find.

Room Tip: First floor was nice. If you can get a Kin/Queen for a few extra bucks, do so for the added room sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear gilthorp,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We truly appreciate all feedback from our guests, and are pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our personal thanks to the Fairfield Inn for a great 2 day stay during the power outage in Lansing, MI. We were quite comfortable and appreciated having continuous hot water unlike at the Best Western Plus Hotel we stayed at prior only because there were no vacancies at a Marriott property.
I was impressed with how friendly and professional the front desk staff was and their offer to assist with luggage since our room was on the 2nd. Floor.

The dining area staff person was very friendly and quite refreshing, especially first thing in the morning. We were also impressed that the Housekeeping Supervisor called our room to inquire if our room had been serviced that day, which it had.

We found the rooms to be spacious, clean, attractive, and everything in working order-which is a huge plus in the Hotel world these days. I used my lap top often and never ever experienced any delays or signing on.

Thanks again Marriott for ensuring a very pleasant stay during a very stressful time in our lives.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are ideal for those who do not want 18-steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lans98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is never an easy time when you don't have power, especially during the holidays. I am so happy to hear that we were able to make things a little easier for you and your family. We really appreciate all feedback from our guests and I will make sure to pass this along to all the staff. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is small two levels , no elevator. It s nicely decorated , clean and fairly new furniture . Specify ground floor if you are not wanting a small flight of stairs. The breakfast small buffet is fresh and a good variety .
The entire staff is over the top helpful and friendly. We have stayed at Marriott chains that are double the cost and had poor service etc. The Fairfield gets a 10!
We needed a Sympathy card asked where the nearest store was and the front desk kindly opened a container full of free cards. Then later at night I asked the the housekeeping person where the nearest ATM was . She gave me nearest safe location. The next morning she asked if I found the ATM, it's small things like that ,that make this hotel so great.
The beds are comfortable , linens nice and rooms modern, the tv is Direct TV with a wide range on great channels.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Jane,

The entire staff at the Fairfield Inn take pride in great customer service and we are so happy to see that it shined through during your recent stay with us!!! Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penfield, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This place is not up to the Marriott standards (I hope). Someone already mentioned the tub and we encountered the same problem trying to stand up since the bottom is slanted to the center so it's hard to stand. Also no grab bar to help get in/out. My wife and I actually skipped the shower our last day because of this problem. Everything just seemed to be shoddy, coupled with poor workmanship. the best part is it looks nice from the outside but I would not stay there again unless I couldn't find anything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captjackny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn East Lansing, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guest Captjackny,

I want to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your recent stay with us. We are working to resolve the tub issues you mentioned as quickly as possible. Please know that we strive to meet Marriott standards in every aspect for our guests, and truly appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve daily.

Please feel free to contact me directly with any additional questions or concerns! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okemos
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
5.6 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Lansing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn East Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn East Lansing

Property: Fairfield Inn East Lansing
Address: 2335 Woodlake Dr, Okemos, MI 48864-5932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Okemos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Okemos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn East Lansing 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn East Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn East Lansing Hotel Okemos
Fairfield Inn Okemos
Fairfield Okemos
Okemos Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing