We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Okemos
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Check in was quick and friendly and fresh cookies were being served in the lobby. There was a conference occurring the evening we arrived, but all conference rooms are well away from guest rooms and separated by doors, so we couldn't hear anything, nor were we inconvenienced at all. Our room was clean and the beds fairly soft, which was wonderful! Our bathroom had a full tub and shower with good temperature and water pressure, both in the evening and the next morning. Breakfast was good, with Holiday Inn's delicious cinnamon rolls! Checkout was as friendly as our arrival.

The location for this hotel is good. It's quiet and located within close proximity to the Amtrak station (10 min. drive), which was our reason for staying here. It's also near to MSU's basketball and football arenas. It's located close to the highway, so it's a good location for travelers just passing through.

Our only complain was spotty internet service. Despite this, we would stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeybusiness23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 165 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday and it was a nice stay. The room decor is dated, as others have mentioned, but everything appeared clean. The bed was very comfortable and the linens, nice. The bathroom only has a stall shower,but it does have a good shower head. There is a huge hot tub in the main room so I guess that is the reason for the stall shower. Speaking of the hot tub, it was clean and worked well.
Breakfast was surprisingly good for a freebie....lots of choices, not just the usual pastry and cold cereal.
We didn't use the pool but it looked nice, although on the small side.
The main complaint we had was our room had the slowest internet service ever!! They give you a password when you check in, but it was very difficult to use the laptop or tablet. Have not had that problem in any other hotels lately. Maybe our room,#131, was too far from the office?
The front desk employees are helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter, but you may have trouble with the internet service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriss j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area), responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear chriss j,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is nice to know that our breakfast was good for your needs. It is unfortunate that you were inconvenienced by the Internet connectivity being slow. Despite this, I hope the next time you are in the area you give our hotel another try.

Again, thanks for the candid review and see you soon!

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

On the last leg of a basketball journey, we stayed two nights at the HE Express in Okemos. The property is a little dated, but overall we had a good stay.

Good: easy check-in, fantastic full breakfast, nice (small) pool area and spa, convenient location, good sized room, pillow menu, renovated bathroom.

Could be better: Bed was spongy and both of us had sore backs each day, shower is new and nice - but small, plus-sized people will have trouble turning around (we had a jacuzzi room, maybe the other rooms have regular tubs, though). Door was a little flimsy.

I ordered up an extra pillow around 9:00 and it arrived within 15 minutes, which was nice service.

Overall, a decent stay but we would probably try a different place for the bed issue.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Upon making my reservation the representative was extremely curtious, knowledgeable, and professional. The room was very clean and up to date. The pool area was beautiful. Amazing hotel for the value. I will definitely stay there in the future, and would reccomend this property to everyone!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shannon7575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was here for a basketball tournament and it was surprisingly nice. The building appears to be older but the inside is pretty modern. Good service. The rooms are typical for a Holiday Inn Express but they did have flat screen TV's. The beds are great! There was free breakfast which was OK. A very nice pool. This hotel is very big. There was some very nice meeting places for everyone. Caution: there are no elevators, but it didn't bother me. Overall, a great value!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

What made this place special? A Jacuzzi in the room and an awesome hot breakfast! Biscuits and gravy, sausage, eggs, etc. Our room was clean and comfortable and check-in was a breeze. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilfromgrandrapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed in a suite for the weekend with kids for a hockey tournament and loved it. Staff was helpful and met all of our requests. Suite was very clean, roomy and comfortable. Shower was a little small but all areas of the suite were spacious enough to not feel on top of each other. Pool area was clean and no issue with towels considering there were hockey, wrestling and cheer teams staying the weekend! Saw another room getting a roll away and we asked for one and they promptly brought us one no problem. Kids played mini sticks in the hallway and no issues with staff or guests. Breakfast was great. Will stay again!

Room Tip: Suites are separate from other rooms with easy access to vehicles, pool and breakfast. First floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockeyfootballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okemos
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
7.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 26 in Lansing
300 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)

Address: 2209 University Park Dr, Okemos, MI 48864-3967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Okemos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Okemos
Price Range: $91 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lansing-Okemos Hotel Near Michigan Attractions Lodging at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Lansing-Okemos, Michigan, puts you within five miles of Michigan State University and ten minutes from the Michigan Capital and the Capital City Airport (LAN). Business travelers will enjoy our East Lansing accommodations near downtown Lansing and the political center of the state. The automotive manufacturing companies that give Lansing its 'Car Capitol of North America' title are a short drive from our hotel. Business travelers lodging in our Okemos hotel who need to host a meeting may use the Conference Center, which includes a 3000 sq. ft. ballroom that can accommodate from 8-200 people . Our East Lansing hotel is surrounded by the beauty of Michigan and the excitement of downtown Lansing. Pack a picnic and relax at a riverfront park or see the animals at the Potter Park Zoo. This hotel near Michigan State University is surrounded by sporting venues, so don't forget your favorite Michigan team's jersey and grab tickets to a baseball, football or hockey game at a nearby stadium. You can relax on your Okemos hotel room's pillow top mattress with triple-sheeted bedding. The Fitness Center, free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and a complimentary breakfast bar allow you to travel without disturbing your routine. Call the East Lansing Holiday Inn Express now for great hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lansing-Okemos (Msu Area)
Holiday Inn Express Okemos
Holiday Inn Okemos
Okemos Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing