We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our weekend stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Okemos
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our weekend stay!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed in a suite for the weekend with kids for a hockey tournament and loved it. Staff was helpful and met all of our requests. Suite was very clean, roomy and comfortable. Shower was a little small but all areas of the suite were spacious enough to not feel on top of each other. Pool area was clean and no issue with towels considering there were hockey, wrestling and cheer teams staying the weekend! Saw another room getting a roll away and we asked for one and they promptly brought us one no problem. Kids played mini sticks in the hallway and no issues with staff or guests. Breakfast was great. Will stay again!

Room Tip: Suites are separate from other rooms with easy access to vehicles, pool and breakfast. First floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeyfootballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    54
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
55
24
8
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Slinger, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The hotel appears to be an acquisition from a different operator, as it does not look like any of the more recent HI Express hotels, inside or out. Reminded me of what the Holidomes used to be like with the 2 story "ranch" appearance with the pool and exercise center in the middle.

Hotel was recently renovated and room was clean. Large jacuzzi with a king bed, which was very comfortable as nearly all HI Express hotels I have stayed at. Really liked the excellent stock and selection of the continental breakfast - probably the best I have had at this price point. Also really liked the thermostat on the HVAC unit and allows you to keep the fan on for white noise when sleeping. The only negatives that I can think of are that the entrance card readers are tired and will not read the card all the time, and due to the large jacuzzi in the room, the shower is quite small - probably 3' x 3'.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jotunheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a Jacuzzi room with a king-sized bed. The front desk staff was very friendly, and when we checked in we were offered a bottle of water or a snack. We declined, as we had just had dinner at the really crappy Applebee's across the street (seriously, don't go there.) The pool area looked nice, but we didn't use it. The breakfast bar was incredibly awesome - not your average continental breakfast. We had an issue with our door to our room. When we got to our room, we finger-touched the door and it opened. It wouldn't lock from the inside, but the deadbolt worked. The toilet handle was broken, the jacuzzi drain was broken, and also smelled like lavender when turned on, but we made it work our first night. The next morning, we talked to the people at the desk, and they did move us across the hall to another room, and offered us 1/2 off our first night's stay for our trouble. We gladly accepted this. The other room had a slight issue with the jet controls, which a call to maintenance fixed. The room was comfortable, breakfast was awesome, and for the second cheapest jacuzzi room in the area ($105/night) we'd totally stay there again. The price is right.

Room Tip: Quiet hall in the 100-130 area :). We were the only people our first night. Room 125 was very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horton, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Staff was friendly at check in. Pool area was dirty & out of towels. Worked OK for one night, but next time we will stay elsewhere. The hotel is just too old & run down. The breakfast was a nice surprise though- lots of choices.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tammyp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
196 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions over the past few years and have never been disappointed. The kids love the pool and the complimentary breakfast. We like the central location and selection of restaurants close by. ( Cracker Barrel , Applebees, McD's and Arby's.) They are pet friendly and there is a nearby neighborhood to walk your pooch!
The pool can be viewed from the eating area. On nice days they retract the roof above the pool. There is a hot tub, sauna and workout room adjacent to the pool area.
The staff was very friendly and helped reunite us with an item that was left behind. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18kimmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here six nights and found it to be quiet, clean and nice amenities. Friendly staff. Easy access to highways and to various places to eat and other services. Free access to wifi in the room plus a desktop with printer for boarding pass printing. Definitely a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bags-R-Packed-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel is two floors, and has no elevator, which I can live with, but no one ever brings this up - so if you are carrying lots of things at one time, it becomes a challenge. The attendant that checked me in late at night was very friendly. My room was clean - although I could not figure out what was bothering my allergies, I think it was dust getting blown around through AC unit, the best night of sleep I had was the night I shut it off. The curtains have a velcro piece to aid in keeping them shut, but in my room the velcro was missing, and there was a large plastic clip, I am not sure if the hotel left this or the previous guest - it does help keep the light out of the darkening curtains. As a recommendation the hotel should raise the TV's up, the dresser they are sitting on is lower then the bed, makes it difficult to see while laying in bed. Bathroom was very clean. I would agree with the other reviewers that the WIFI was slow. I never did try the breakfast, it looked pretty good the one morning I walked down there. Not the caliber of hotel I have come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express

Room Tip: If you are carrying lots of items - ask for the first floor - no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okemos
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
344 reviews
3.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)
Address: 2209 University Park Dr, Okemos, MI 48864-3967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Okemos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Okemos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Lansing-Okemos Hotel Near Michigan Attractions Lodging at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Lansing-Okemos, Michigan, puts you within five miles of Michigan State University and ten minutes from the Michigan Capital and the Capital City Airport (LAN). Business travelers will enjoy our East Lansing accommodations near downtown Lansing and the political center of the state. The automotive manufacturing companies that give Lansing its 'Car Capitol of North America' title are a short drive from our hotel. Business travelers lodging in our Okemos hotel who need to host a meeting may use the Conference Center, which includes a 3000 sq. ft. ballroom that can accommodate from 8-200 people . Our East Lansing hotel is surrounded by the beauty of Michigan and the excitement of downtown Lansing. Pack a picnic and relax at a riverfront park or see the animals at the Potter Park Zoo. This hotel near Michigan State University is surrounded by sporting venues, so don't forget your favorite Michigan team's jersey and grab tickets to a baseball, football or hockey game at a nearby stadium. You can relax on your Okemos hotel room's pillow top mattress with triple-sheeted bedding. The Fitness Center, free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access and a complimentary breakfast bar allow you to travel without disturbing your routine. Call the East Lansing Holiday Inn Express now for great hotel rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lansing-Okemos (Msu Area)
Holiday Inn Express Okemos
Holiday Inn Okemos
Okemos Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing