We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Dining Experience Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Stillwater Grill

Stillwater Grill
Ranked #14 of 113 Restaurants in Okemos
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Dining Experience Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Absolute disaster. Horrible service, mediocre food. We had been there a couple of times a few years ago and it was great. But even though it had the same menu it was absolutely terrible--even the soft drink wasn't mixed correctly. It used to be a great value with generous portion sizes, tasty food, etc. But it was--in no uncertain terms--the worst dining experience ever that ruined a night with family. There are far better places to eat in the Lansing area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walt526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestaurantManager13, Manager at Stillwater Grill, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Walt,

Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Stillwater Grill. We have forwarded your review to our management team to make them aware that we did not meet our expectations we hold for our restaurant.

We are incredibly sorry for this happening and we would like to make it right. Could you please send us your contact information so we can make it right? Contact us at info@stillwatergrill.com.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we can earn your business in the future.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    58
    35
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I travel alone often. And dining can be a nightmare of bad tables, bad service and cold food because servers because servers assume they won't make much in tips. But not at Stillwater. I had dinner there on two different nights when the restaurant was very busy. Yet I not only got a well lit table (easier for reading), but attentive servers who didn't ignore me. On top of that, the food was delicious. The grilled salmon and roasted vegetables were both outstanding and just what I needed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bags-R-Packed-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

No matter what I've ordered there, it's always hot, delicious and priced reasonably. My favorite is Lobster Bisque - best around.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mariharri001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLAND
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality service to tour group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Restaurant accommodated our group opening early Sunday. Wait staff attentive and friendly. Many menu choices.Surprising variety,(ex. seared ahi.) Portions very generous. Short distance to Wharton Center performances.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boaz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and service, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our first visit. We came about 4 pm on Sunday afternoon so it was not very busy. The staff were all friendly. Our waitress was a bit quiet but very efficient. My wife, teenage daughter, and I had a spinach dip appetizer and three different entrees. The app was free because we are season subscribers to the Broadway series at MSU's Wharton Center. It was the hugest spinach dip helping we've ever had anywhere. It was a bit spicier than we've had elsewhere (think Applebee's), and it was really good. All our entrees were great, and once again the portion sizes were quite large (including the salads that came with our entrees). Our only complaint was it was a little more expensive than I would have expected. We all would have been happy with less expensive meals that had smaller portion sizes. We had no need for a kids' menu and I'm not sure if they had one, so I don't know if it's a good place to bring younger kids. For the prices, probably not. They had a nice selection of microbrews, including many Michigan brewers, and a decent dessert selection (but we were too full to order dessert).

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stillwater Grill also viewed

Okemos, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 
Okemos, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 

Been to Stillwater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing