We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently pleasant and delicious”
Review of Tannin

Tannin
Ranked #4 of 129 Restaurants in Okemos
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 12, 2018

This is our favorite 'go to' place for a quiet night out, with good wine and interesting food. I hate it when a menu never changes. Tannin updates theirs every season with such interesting dishes. Servers have always tasted everything themselves and give great advice. I understand Tannin is moving to another location. Sad to see it leave Okemos, but will definitely go to its new locale.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeannemag22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 96 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2018

The best restaurant in Okemos/East Lansing.
Friendly service, great bar/cocktails, nice wine list.
The food is quite good and seasonal, especially the apps and the pastas.
The patio is lovely when the weather is nice, and works for kids especially if you come early, as well as for dates/celebrations.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lexa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

We finally made it here after wanting to try it the last couple of years. Decided to try it for my husbands birthday. We started out with a rose’ and manhattan to drink. Both were very good. The bartender made a yummy Manhattan with house made maraschino cherries.

We ordered the charcuterie board and it had a pate’, Brie, tomato jam, blue cheese, mustard, manchengo, salami, and prosciutto. Very good.

He had a Caesar salad with white anchovies that were marinated in citrus oil. A good bet if you’re wanting to try anchovies but nervous about them; they were very mild and a nice complement to the salad.

At our servers recommendation, I had the chilled tomato soup with heirloom relish. Sooo good and very refreshing.

Our entrees were the clam pasta and spaghetti carbonara. They were both delicious and regular noodles cannot compare to the homemade noodles they have here. Thick and amazing.

We finished the night with the blueberry creme brûlée. Also summery and perfect. We could not have been happier and will be back!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sasha_cbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018

3 of our group ordered a pasta dish that was so spicy that none could finish the dish.
The pesto pasta with crab was lukewarm with cold crab and so so pasta. Salmon was only good dish and hence one star. Waitress did not know much about the menu at all.
Loud music.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank S6Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

Since tannin opened we have gone there many times for birthdays anniversaries and work dinners. I can honestly say we have never left disappointed. The wait staff are attentive and knowledge and the chef is willing to accommodate dietary restrictions. The apps and entrees are delicious and the desserts are amazing. We’ve started going without a special occasion happening and have enjoyed sitting out on the patio. Try tannin-it is one of the only outstanding restaurants in this area.

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Pattyl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tannin also viewed

Okemos, Ingham County
Lansing, Ingham County
 
Lansing, Ingham County
East Lansing, Ingham County
 
Okemos, Ingham County
 

Been to Tannin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing