We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nachos Galore!”

Leo's Spirits and Grub
Ranked #22 of 116 Restaurants in Okemos
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nachos Galore!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you're craving apps and drinks, this is the perfect place to go. Saturday night domestic beer and vodka specials too! The mini nachos had all the toppings you would hope for on nachos...beans, beef, cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, sour cream and salsa.
Seafood nachos. Need I say more? No one else in town has them that we're aware of. They even swapped out the pepper jack cheese for us with no extra charge! The boneless wings with the general tso sauce was so good too! Didn't even need the dipping sauces! Can't wait to try more!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpartyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    31
    10
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Good food / drink, has potential to be more”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited after going to a high school basketball game at the Breslin, looking for some solace after our team was ousted in the state semi-finals and to watch some NCAA games. Getting into the lot was the first challenge.

We decided to sit at the bar because there were three screens right in front of us. I ordered a Guiness which was poured appropriately (Guiness drinkers will understand this) and the bartender was helpful in my wife choosing an apple ale which she really enjoyed. We ordered a pizza bread, and after that we started to get frustrated.

The bartender appears to also be the floor manager, take out phone answerer, money manager, drink maker for all waitstaff and has to handle the bar. We asked (and the guy next to us) asked if they could put the NCAA on the TV's, and the first bartender said she would but she was shift changing so give her a minute. That was fine, but 15 minutes later the TV's weren't changed and the guy next to us was giving updates on a couple of upsets in the making from his phone. So we told the new bartender, who was overwhelmed with all the responsibilities above and apparently the only one who can change the TV's, (the entire place has at least 20 TV's) were on the news. We started to get frustrated and she was apologetic but just couldn't be in the back to change the satellites. Why the controls for all the TV's are in the back makes no sense. During this whole time she was running around, at least 4 waitstaff were goofing off behind the bar. After about 25 minutes, the TV's were finally changed to the games but they couldn't find one of the stations that they should have. It's a sports bar, right? I want to be sure you understand our bartender did the best she could, but was overwhelmed with no help.

Anyway, our pizza bread was good, the drinks were fine and priced okay. But this place needs to look at how it is managed - they seem to want to do an Applebees type model but they have floor managers and this place didn't (at least while we were there). The waitstaff should be dealing with take out orders (i.e. - whoever can get to the phone does it), and there should be at least a few people who know how to change the TV (and also know what stations they have - if they have NFL Sunday Ticket especially). I felt really bad for our bartender as she was also frustrated as it seemed the the person she relieved didn't finish what she was working on either, add that to a full bar and everything else and it was hard to watch. The layout and atmosphere was nice, sort of a rustic sportsbar setting. I think that if they leaned out their operation it would be a great place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best bar food”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've never had a bad meal here. I've had several of their pizzas, the cod sandwich, broasted chicken, etc. It's bar food, but it's the best bar food out there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMoose2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent Food, Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family has eaten here about 10 times and never had a bad meal. The food is well-prepared and the service has been attentive. Of course, it is bar/pub food so if you are looking for something more special or high-brow, this may not be the place for you. If you want a good burger, pizza, pub sandwich, Leo's is a reasonably priced option.

Helpful?
Thank MSUmom92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ionia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sunday is Family Day - BOGO Pizza Day!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My family loves to go here on Sundays for pizza! There is so much to see in the log cabin and the food is superb!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel0vr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo's Spirits and Grub also viewed

Lansing, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 
Okemos, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 

Been to Leo's Spirits and Grub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing