We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Hampton in an area without great hotel options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Okemos
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Basic Hampton in an area without great hotel options”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times It does a very good business and is generally full of business folks. Not too noisy and very clean. The room is a standard Hampton Inn, although the carpet will wake you up - its red and black striped. Not awful, just surprising. If you arrive early enough, you can request a refrigerator and a microwave. They will bring them to your room if they have any available. The heater/air conditioner in the room is of the window box variety, so it never seems to turn off and can be a bit noisy. One downside of this constant heat blowing in the winter is that your skin feels dried out by the morning. The lobby area and breakfast room are very nice, with a fireplace that runs throughout the winter, giving the place a comfortable feel. Breakfast isn't very good - but it is what it is. Eat cereal, fruit...maybe a sausage. The eggs are somewhat awful and best left alone. The pool area is small but nice and there is a whirlpool that seems well utilized. The gym is modern and well-equipped, although the last time I visited a number of the machines did not have operating television screens (which are attached). The little business center only includes one computer, so its a good idea to work from your room using the WI-FI. Parking is free and ample and the location is good - just off the highway with a number of nearby restaurants. The staff are okay. They seem kind of annoyed if you actually ask for their assistance, but they will help you out. All in all, probably one of the best places to stay in the area...which doesn't have a lot of hotel competition.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USTravelera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding our property. The best way for a property to improve is through the comments of guests. Please know that we take all guest concerns very seriously and we will be addressing the concerns that you have presented. The goal of every manager and staff member is to make sure that all guests enjoy their stay and feel welcomed. I am shocked and embarrassed to know that there would ever be a staff member that would make a guest feel as though they were an annoyance. Our guests are our number one concern. I hope that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the Okemos area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    114
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
178
69
24
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Overnight stay on business. Bulk standard 'queen' room (2 x queen beds) with very 1980'ish decor in the room on the ground floor. The carpet was designed in 1989 I think!

Main reception, lobby area quite nice and very welcoming, helpful front desk staff.

BIG dislike - NO safe in the room - despite the room documentation referring to a room safe as a safety tip for valuables! Asked the front desk - and they seemed surpirsed the doco on the room referred to a 'safe'....

Good free WiFi (standard in most US hotels these days).

Breakfast - just OK. Disposable plates and cutlery, ok fresh fruit, ok coffee and rubbery overcooked (so called) scrambled eggs.

Would I recommend? - No

Would I go back - not if I can help it.

Were the people nice - yes - but they don't own the hotel - they just work there...

Quiet - yes

Home away from home - not the room I stayed in...

Next time - breakfast at the restaurant nearby....

Room Tip: Ask for a room without 2 x queen beds. Cluttered room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
I would like to say "thank you" for taking the time to provide your comments and feedback regarding your stay with us. I apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. The goal of every manager and staff member is to make sure that every guest is 100% satisfied with their stay. Guest safety and security is also a key goal that we focus on and safety deposit boxes are available at the front desk for guests’ convenience. Also, I would like to share that the property did complete a full renovation in the summer of 2010. I do apologize again that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and I do hope that you give our property another chance the next time you are in the Okemos area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this property for a group of friends & family going to a football game. I ended up joining them and was very impressed with the layout of the property and the rooms. It sits off the main road about 3 blocks north of the interstate exit ramp.

Room Tip: We got a Jr Suite on the far East end opposite the drive up, 2 King Beds & a sofa sleeper and en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coach H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
I am so glad that you were able to be our guest for a football weekend. The football season is always a fun and exciting time for the local area. Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your stay and the positive comments regarding our location. We look forward to seeing you next season or sooner if you are in the Okemos area :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent location - convenient to mall/shopping and MSU! Beautiful rooms - large and accommodating for the business traveller! Nice indoor pool and spa. Large exercise room with TVs! Very professional and friendly staff. Breakfast is great - lots of options! I Love staying here - will be back again next week!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stays with us. We know that travel can be tiring and it is never easy to be away from home. We are honored and flattered that you consider us your "home away from home". The goal of the management and staff is to make sure that every guest feels welcomed and is completely satisfied with their stay. Thank you again for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I attended a conference at this hotel. What a nice, clean, modern, great looking hotel. We had continental breakfast and it was pretty hearty for that type of breakfast. Great coffee! :) Friendly staff, nice location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! A great breakfast is an essential start to the day :-) Thank you for the positive comments regarding the breakfast, coffee, and staff. Our goal is to make sure that every guest feels welcomed and has an exceptional stay. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in the Okemos area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you read my other reviews, you know how much I prefer to stay in a Hampton Inn when I am not in a major city.

This location was above what I would call your average Hampton Inn. I was able to find a room at the last minute while in town for the Ohio State/Michigan State football game and was surprised to find they still had last minute availability (read: well after a 3:30 p.m. game).

It has been about six years since my last visit to East Lansing and I do not remember this Hampton Inn location being in Okemos. It looks as though this location was recently renovated as the lobby/sitting area is LARGE (high ceilings) and definitely different from typical Hampton Inn locations.

The fitness room is stocked with Precor fitness equipment (three treadmills and two elliptical machines). The room is open 24 hours.

I stayed in an accessible room since this was one of the rooms remaining. The room itself had plenty of space to move around. The bathroom was also large and no issues moving around.

The breakfast at this location was standard for a Hampton Inn. However, while I forgot to mention this to a hotel employee, I thought they could have replaced the stock of bananas as they were already starting to turn brown (something you don't typically see at a Hampton Inn). Don't make this the reason you do not chose to stay at this location because overall, it was more than what I would expect for a typical Hampton Inn when it comes to the property's newer appearance.

This is located off I-96 but you have to keep your eye out for it on the east side of the surface street, just an FYI. There is also a Dunkin' Donuts across the street, if that's something that interests you.

Room Tip: If you want a suite, you should put in a request early to have it AWAY from the elevator because bas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us during an MSU football weekend :-) We appreciate your comments and the fact that you feel we are "above average". The management and staff pride ourselves on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The public areas and rooms are nicer than the average Hampton. Staff was friendly. Good breakfast bar areas. Bed was fine--not wonderfully great, but good. Average size room. Normal number of TV channels. Nice bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequentflyermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing our property for your stay in the Okemos area :-) We greatly appreciate your positive comments! Our property completed a full renovation in 2010, so your comment regarding us being "above average" is greatly appreciated! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Okemos
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lansing-Okemos (MSU Area)
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn East Lansing
Hampton Inn East Lansing
#1 of 9 in East Lansing
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn East Lansing
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
279 reviews
4.3 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos
Address: 2200 Hampton Pl, Okemos, MI 48864-3685
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Okemos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Okemos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing/Okemos with a variety of thoughtful extras. Conveniently located near a variety of attractions, this Okemos, MI hotel is close to downtown Lansing, Michigan State University, and the Michigan State Capital. Discover the Wharton Center for Performing Arts, visit the Impression 5 Science Center, or watch a Lansing Lugnuts baseball game. Whether you’re here for work or just to get away from it all, this hotel in Okemos, MI guarantees you a warm welcome.Relax in a spacious guest room or choose a suite with a separate living area, pull-out sofa bed, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Wake up with Hampton’s free hot breakfast and sip on tea and coffee at any time of day in the cozy lobby. Set close to a number of businesses, this Lansing hotel in Okemos, MI offers a range of versatile function space. Host a meeting or event for up to 100 guests. Catch up with work in the business center and stay in touch with free high-speed internet access available throughout the hotel. Re-energize in the 24-hour fitness center or plunge into the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites East Lansing / Okemos
Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos Hotel Okemos
Hampton Inn Okemos
Okemos Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing