We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch”
Review of Gilbert & Blake's

Gilbert & Blake's
Ranked #6 of 114 Restaurants in Okemos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
889 reviews
599 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We went to Gilbert & Blake's as part of a realtively large group (12 people). Overall, the food was good, although the service a bit slow, but knowledgable and friendly.

We went at 11:30 on a Saturday morning; between then and 12:30 when we left, the place was fairly empty. The decor and interior was very nice and tasteful.

The food was pretty good overall. The main dishes were very good, and I thought the appetizers marginal; the calimari was good; the spincach artichoke dip had a touch too much garic, and the smoked whitefish dip was all smoke flavor, with very little whitefish flavor. The bread was excellent.

I orderd the grilled cheese with lobster, which was excellent. The sandwich came with one side (I ordered the mashed potatoes), and a cop of tomato bisque (for eating as a soup, or dipping the sandwich in). The lobster was "real" meat, not tough at all, and very tasty. I could have used a little more cheese on the sandwich, but it was still very good.

Overall, our whole group was very happy with their meals. I would not mind going back and trying something else on their menu........

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    35
    16
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was expecting more. I had the whitefish meal. It was good, a little soggy, not great. Their bread is delicious. Overall, nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank lindsay d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Top Notch Meal and Service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had our Christmas Eve Dinner at Gilbert & Blakes (We had 18 in our party). I was a little concerned at first beacuse we only had one Waitress (Stepahanie). She did a fantastic job in taking care of us. She was very prompt in refilling our glasses and all the food came out warm and very tastey. She even was able to memorize the 4 kids names at the table just by listening to us talking to them, a very nice added touch. We will be having our annual christmas eve dinner at this restuartant again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinglefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NEVER EVER”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Where to begin? All 4 of our meals were wrong in significant ways when they arrived. Wrong preparations, wrong side dishes, special requests ignored (nothing difficult, like "no butter.") The vegetables still had the stickers on them from the supplier, the food was poor quality, amateurishly served and basic things like requests for lemon for the tea went ignored. We thought our waiter could be new, but if that were the case he should have had help. The whole night was a disaster and the restaurant comped all 4 of our meals. We left hungry and will not return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank marqule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Nice place - friendly service, good food”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Had the local (lake) fish - very well prepared and cooked.
Wine list - not bad.
Sevice - very good.
Would I go back - definitely.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilbert & Blake's also viewed

Okemos, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 
Okemos, Ingham County
Okemos, Ingham County
 
Okemos, Ingham County
 

Been to Gilbert & Blake's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing