We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre saved by a great front desk. . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Detroit Novi
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel was mediocre -- nothing special, but not horrible. There were no bugs or real dirt, per se; but I probably wouldn't stay here again -- save for the front desk person named Ruta. She was awesome.

The restaurant (which is really a makeshift breakfast buffet) looked like a post-apocalyptic disaster area as much as thirty minutes before closing, so unless you're there bright and early, don't plan on anything appetizing.

If there's one single thing this hotel should do to make a marked improvement, it's get a new housekeeping director who knows how to train their staff.

SERVICE
I requested a change of sheets -- didn't happen. That really annoyed me.
They didn't service my room -- though I was out of it -- until nearly 5 p.m. after I asked why they hadn't.
They removed the hair dryer from the room on day one.
On day two they promised a new hair dryer in five minutes or less (as I was dripping wet) and it took thirty.

ROOMS
Sruprisingly, the bed was comfortable. Two of the four pillows were nice.
The A/C was okay, not great.
The decor was on par with what you'd expect for a dated Courtyard.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2FlyTogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Novi Courtyard. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some issues during your stay. We have just completed renovations and would like to invite you to stay with us again. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

Staff were friendly and Hotel was clean. Need to finnish putting flat screen tv's in rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NortonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Detroit-Novi. We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased to announce that renovations have been completed, along with all new flat screen TV's. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed one night while visiting family. The price for one room with 2 Queens was great. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjpCleveland_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Novi Courtyard. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

The staff at this hotel made the minor inconveniences we experienced neglible. (We has hoped for a 2 queen room with a balcony and fridge - ended up with a king with no fridge). They threw in free breakfast - which was fabulous! We were rather entertained by the soccer players in the next room - but would have preferred not hearing the details of their partying coming back up (literally) the morning after. The walls must be fairly thin. However, this didn't really interrupt our sleep.

Novi is a great place to dine and shop. They are also close to the outlet mall in Howell. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bindy5London_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coodinator at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Novi Courtyard. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, but I am glad that our staff was able to make up for it. Thank you for choosing the Novi Courtyard and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

The hotel is very near to all popular street malls and restaurants like The Post and Mongolian Barbecue.

The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast was the best I've had ever.

Also, excellent staff, they were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel_Gecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie R, Property Coodinator at Courtyard Detroit Novi, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Novi Courtyard. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

For the price we paid on Priceline we were pleased. It looks like any standard, somewhat dated Courtyard. Our initial key cards to the room didn't work and that was a hassle. But, It is near a lot of restaurants and it was hard to pick a place for dinner - lots of choices! We had a small fridge in the room. No microwave. We didn't make coffee in the morning - the pot looked dirty. The shower was good and strong and a hair dryer in the closet was provided. Pillows are flat and very hard. I wish I would have brought my own. If we stay here again (we checked out at 6:30 am) I look forward to the continental breakfast, 7am - 11am.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pineapple62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

Stayed here Thanksgiving week using my Marriott Rewards Points. Hotel is in Novi at the intersection of Novi Road and Grand River. Convenient to freeways and other businesses.

The lobby is the outdated Courtyard design. There is only 1 computer with printer in the lobby. That really isnt enough for a place that sells itself as a business travelers hotel. Hotel has breakfast until 930 am on weekdays. On weekends, they serve to 11 am.

The hotel has an indoor pool and jacuzzi. Small but useful. A work out room with an elliptical machine (new), treadmill (old), stairclimber (older), and some weights.

The rooms are nice and clean with flat screen TVs but no High Definition service. You are watching things in standard definition. Ventilation units look to be the original and very old. Bed was too soft for our taste. Our room had a small refrigerator. I dont know if that is standard. Small vanity. Internet is wired and pretty slow. Less than 1 Mbps download speed when I tested it. SLOW! Not really suited for a business travelers hotel.

The staff are really nice. Housekeeping staff do a wonderful job of cleaning the rooms.

When will Marriott get their Courtyards all updated with their new technology orientated lobbies with a modern bistro for dining? No Starbucks coffee in hotel or nearby.

I recommend that you to Steve & Rocky's for either lunch or dinner. This place is fantastic! Its walking distance from the hotel. Excellent service and quality of food. This was the best place we ate during our week in Michigan.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexsndiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Novi hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Detroit Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Detroit Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Detroit Novi

Address: 42700 W 11 Mile Rd, Novi, MI 48375-1712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Novi
#6 Family Hotel in Novi
Price Range: $91 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Detroit Novi 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Detroit Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Novi Hotel Novi
Courtyard Novi
Novi Courtyard
Novi Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing