We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals Choice and Still the Best!”

Athenian Coney Island
Ranked #16 of 192 Restaurants in Novi
Cuisines: American, Greek, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Locals Choice and Still the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Love Athenians! Used to come here all the time when I lived here in the 90s - its gotten better! Great decor, fast friendly staff and reasonably priced. My go to place to start the day w a fast, hearty meal.

Helpful?
Thank Rex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    1
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Love this Place--great food; fast and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best coney restaurant in Novi. The food is always fresh and tasty. The updated decor is modern yet warm. The wait staff are always friendly and efficient. Have never had a bad experience and we go here frequently. Recommend the salads and breakfasts although everything else we've tried has also always been very good.

Helpful?
Thank KatieKDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greedy ownership. Overpriced, but decent, food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I don't have a problem with the food - though it's a bit overpriced - or the wait service. My problem relates to their greedy policy.
I was a regular customer, used to eat there for lunch (alone) a couple of times a week, and with my family about once a month.
Today, I went into the restaurant after one, and all the seats were full. The owner told me, "just a couple of seconds", and I waited for a table. I knew it was not their policy to seat singles at booths when other, smaller tables were available (even when multiple booths were open). However, today, after waiting 5 minutes, a booth opened up. Almost simultaneously, a couple walked in the restaurant. The owner walked up, ignored me, and walked the just-arrived couple to the table.
Just to clarify - this was not a huge, 6-seater booth, but a small booth. Also, any of the "single" tables where I've been put before would have accomodated 2 people. This was near the end of the lunch rush, many additional tables should have been opening up shortly. Finally, the owner knew me, and knew I ate at the restaurant frequently.
When I protested, he said, "Sorry, the policy is on the door."

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OliviaF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“CLEAN WITH GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This place is tucked out of the way so you can easily miss it, the entrance is a bit strange but once you enter it is very nice. Plenty of young wait staff eager to help you. Even though the place is not very big it feels spacious inside. You can see the cook preparing your food, and everything in the kitchen is spotless. Even while he was waiting for an order, he was cleaning. The food is delivered quickly and the portions are huge, and delicious. Our server came over several times to fill up our drinks and check that we were doing okay. The bathrooms are amazing and so clean, you have to check them out. Plenty of seating outside also. I would go back here any time for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quick, delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just ate there today and it was super! I had the original gyro, french fries and a mini greek salad. The salad was the best I have ever ever had! It was HUGE for one thing and loaded with feta cheese and their in house made dressing! I bought an extra mini greek salad to go! The service was great, the wait staff attentive, quickly refilling soda glasses and checking that everything was okay. If I didn't live over an hour from there The Athenian would become my restaurant of choice on a weekly basis!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Athenian Coney Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing