We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not ideal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Detroit Novi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Detroit Novi
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Novi
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not ideal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed there one night on a Saturday, but found the floor we were initially assigned to too noisy due to kids running around. We called the front desk and the staff was nice enough to move us to a club floor. Unfortunately the elevator made so sharp beeping sound throughout the evening and night that we could not sleep well even though out room was not next to the elevator. Seems that something was wrong.

Room Tip: find a room far from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    127
    64
    17
    13
See reviews for
64
55
20
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Priceline gave this hotel 3.5 stars (the second highest in the area), so we gave it a shot when our house was being painted and the fumes over-whelmed us. As the previous poster stated, the hotel is in a great location, and that is where the positives end. The biggest problem with this hotel is the noise level. The walls must be extremely thin as we too could hear every conversation in the hall, all night long. A combination of boys' hockey teams, girls' gymnastic teams and a wedding in the banquet hall led to a sleep-less night, as people roamed the halls all night long (the rock hard beds, did not help matters either). As stated, we live in the area, so I don't have first hand knowledge of other hotels, but I would recommend choosing a different one, if I were looking in this area again.

Room Tip: Choose an end room, far from the elevators, as hall noise is a big problem with this establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel while moving my daughter home from college. The location was great and it was easy to navigate from the hotel to her apartment. The hotel is a little worn and in need of some TLC, but it was clean and comfortable. Our only complaint was the level of noise you had from people walking down the halls to their rooms. We never heard any sounds from beside us or from above, but we could hear every conversation of anyone going up and down the hall all night long. We were unlucky in the fact that there were numerous high school hockey teams staying the night so we didn't get much sleep. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, just be very selective on the location of your room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blossomjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Rooms are a bit tired although we were told refurbishment is in the plans. Hotel is considering adding suites which were told are not currently available. Rooms do seem to be a bit dark - they need more or brighter lamps. Club room service was very efficient as was front desk staff. Retaurant staff at breakfast were personable and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed on business for one night. Lobby is very nice, clean, and excellent customer service. Went I went to the room, I thought I just went back in time. Very gloomy, dark, and looked like hasnt been upgraded in over 15 years. Basic cleanliness, but its so old you just feel dirty. I would look to stay somewhere else until they upgrade the rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed her for a corporate function. The beds were very comfy and the staff very nice. Had breakfast in their restaurant. We had continental and it included all beverages, which made it an easy choice. Lots of fresh fruit, hot oatmeal, cold cereals, yogurt, toppings. It was very good. The coffee was excellent!
I liked the green option - you can choose not to get your room cleaned and they will give you a $5.00 voucher for their restaurant or store. They will still give you clean towels, if needed.
They also have a shuttle service that will drive you within a 2 mile radius for free. We took it out for dinner, with 6 of us it was $25. Great option!
The only thing I did not like was that there was no free wi-fi in the rooms. Come on, this doesn't cost the hotel anything and they should make it convenient for their guests. It is free in the lobby, but not rooms.
Slept great, comfy pillows, quiet hallways.
Can't go wrong here.
Priced one night through Priceline and the company paid the second night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardengirl102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Well we paid 62 a night from a Hotwire deal. Normal price would have been 102 a night.
So the price was acceptable (with the Hotwire deal). What burned me is a 20 Internet charge (is suppose to be 10). I feel Internet should be free now a days at places you stay.
Our room carpet had someone else's toe nail clippings on it. The hot tub in the basement was not maintained well - water level was too low for the skimmer to work. We were sitting in the hot tub and a hair from someone else's lower body was visiting us - pretty gross.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPEDFREQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novi
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Novi
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Detroit Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Detroit Novi

Property: Sheraton Detroit Novi
Address: 21111 Haggerty Rd, Novi, MI 48375-5305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Detroit Novi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Detroit's affluent Novi suburb, Sheraton Detroit Novi is just minutes from downtown Detroit attractions and the Detroit Metropolitan Airport. Our hotel features diverse meeting space, a grand ballroom, indoor pool, fitness center and on-site dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sheraton Detroit Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Detroit Novi Hotel Novi
Sheraton Novi
Novi Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing