We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Rooms,High End Boutique Wanna-be ,Horrible Front desk.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms,High End Boutique Wanna-be ,Horrible Front desk.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in July 2012. I am a Marriott Rewards Member ( Makes no difference to this location) Okay the rooms are modernly decorated. They have a motor city theme. ( Pictures of cars etc.) with a oriental design. This was my third stay. The property has a parking area that is in desperate need of repaving. It takes away from the beauty of the location. About 3-4 floors. Upon check-in for the third time. The front desk people tend to be young and very arrogant. ( I know this is supposed to be a sort of upscale location, but...) They don't thank you for staying, they were basically having a personal discussion that I interupted. Okay close to chain resturants, Olive Garden, Please try Famous Dave's if you like BBQ. (Very Awesome). Please ask the front desk person for directions, its across the freeway. The "Imagine Theater" is awesome, they have the simulator seats. ( They have sound and vibrate, very cool for action movies), There is the "Twelve Oaks Mall" , they have your standard mall shops, ( Bath, body works, Macy's, there might be an Apple Store) The room service is very good. The food is awesome. They are very accomodating. The wine list isn't bad either. Your staying near a very popular and well accessible mall area. I feel that this is the best property in the area. If you can overlook the snooty, unattentive front desk, The staff needs to get a lesson in dealing with Guests looking for a higher end experience. The hotel has a higher end boutique desire, but falls short because of the rude staff. I am appalled that at check-out I sat in the info center using the computer and ahd to listen to two of the front desk girls and the housekeeping girl ramble on about some drama situation. Professionalism at this property is not emphasized, which sucks, when you are paying an average of $120,00 a night plus ( if you order room service). Which is a nice amount for the Detroit area. ( The area has really gone down in the past few years), I think three strikes, "Your Out"!!! I won't return. the "Staybridge Suites", down the road was a lot better choice.

Room Tip: Small Hotell with 3-4 floors. Ask for a room closer to the main entrance, Very few elevators. I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    86
    34
    7
    12
See reviews for
51
61
13
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was the venue for the wedding of my nephew. The affair was great, though the main course was not served hot, just barely warm. The room was of adequate size, but no bathtub. I freaked. Even cheap hotels have bathtubs and this is not necessarily a cheap bathtub. They moved me to a handicapped room which had a tub, though the regular room certainly had a bath big enough to accommodate the same little bath as was in the handicapped. The hotel was attractive, and the restaurant seemed good, though I did not eat there. No pool. Very close to a big mall with many nice stores. Far from downtown Detroit. The 2nd room they gave us was dusty and not as well furnished as the first. There was a refrigerator and coffee maker which we used daily. No link to the airport other than cab or car rental. There is a large gap at the bottom of the hall door to the room permitting any hall noise to penetrate the room easily.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blessed06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is my new favorite hotel in suburban Detroit..better than the Royal Park. Great rooms, amazing breakfast in the connected restaurant (Toasted Oak), terrific workout facilities, and helpful front desk staff. It's also right near the 12 Oaks Mall - so you can get your errands done while on business travel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank VAtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

One of the best restaurants in the area is located in the Baronette Renaissance. Excellent food - breakfast through dinner, though it can get loud. Attractive, modern lobby with attentive staff. I have to agree with Marajoe's review regarding room condition, however. We were surprised to find dust-covered lampshades, dust/dirt under the bed, shower that leaked onto the bathroom floor, threadbare towels with holes. As stated in that review, this room did not meet the standards we have come to expect from a Marriott property. With a little extra care, the management of the hotel can restore this facility to the excellent level it enjoyed when operated as an independent boutique hotel.

Note: Excessive noise in corridor one evening prevents me from giving "excellent" sleep quality rating. Hotel security staff should have been vigilant once they knew that a wedding reception had moved into the hallway on our floor. Noise was allowed to continue until 4:30am. Very unsatisfactory for a couple trying to rest before our own daughter's wedding the next day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Went with a good friend to do the flowers for another friend's wedding. I have done hundreds of weddings all over the world but I can say that this banquet staff as well as the other hotel staff were the best I have ever worked with. We were treated with great respect and it was though we were members of their team and not outsiders. Although I spent little time in the room, it was very nice, clean and comfortable. I would certainly recommend this hotel for an event or just a great place to stay. Thanks to all the staff for helping make this event great and welcoming us.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard view room which was nice.....am not certain about other options - I know the suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
802 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I did like this hotel, great location, very nice lobby, it has everything going for it. The only complaint that I had, the room was so dusty. You could tell it had been a while since it has a good cleaning. Sorry Marriott, but this room did not met your typically standards. Everything but the dust was good. Issues is, if you have that much dust, what else is wrong. I love the Marriott brand. I will give this hotel another try. I know this is not the normal. I will say the food in the restaurant was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
I appreciate your recognition of our location and lobby dedcor, and am disappointed you did not enjoy your stay overall. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered with the dust in your room. We are in the process of replacing our original air conditioning units, and are in search of filters that will make our rooms more pleasant for our guests. I would be happy to discuss your stay further, feel free to contact me.

Kimberly Greene, GM
kimberly.greene@thebaronette.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently (booked a last-minute trip due to a family function). I will admit that I am a little bit biased because we got married at this hotel several years ago. However, we were very impressed with the upgrades they have done and with the quality overall. The rooms were well-furnished and very clean. In fact, the entire hotel was very clean. The walls were thick enough that we didn't have noise concerns. The price was also right for us, as we stayed using our Marriott points. It is located in a nice neighborhood in Novi, which is convenient to shopping and the highway. Next time we are in Detroit, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor, which is reserved for Marriott rewards members. It was quieter and les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jns247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGreene, General Manager at The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to provide comments regarding your recent visit to the Renaissance Baronette. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay after such a memorable occassion. We are very proud of our recent renovation, and work very hard to maintain the clenaliness of our hotel. Thank you for your loyalty to Marriott, and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kimberly Greene
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Novi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Novi
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel

Property: The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
Address: 27790 Novi Rd, Novi, MI 48377-3422
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Novi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Novi
#5 Business Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the most luxurious Detroit area hotels, the Baronette Renaissance Detroit Novi Hotel offers an exquisite atmosphere. Our superb service provides guests with the premium experience they deserve. Each of our rooms and suites feature upscale amenities, including luxurious Egyptian cotton sheets and 37" HDTVs. Leisure guests and business travelers alike will enjoy our excellent on-site fitness & business centers. As one of the most convenient Detroit area hotels, we are located just 27 miles north of the Detroit International Airport and situated right next to the celebrated Twelve Oaks Mall, a world-class shopping destination. The Baronette is also conveniently close to the Suburban Collection Showplace, top attractions, and numerous Fortune 500 companies. Savor an unforgettable experience in an ideal locale at The Baronette Renaissance Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baronette Renaissance Hotel Novi
Baronette Hotel Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing