We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beware of Construction!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
976 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 915 helpful votes
“Beware of Construction!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Attended a family event over the weekend with a block of rooms reserved by the party hosts. Walked into the BIGGEST MESS i''ve ever seen. From the moment you walked into the door they were tearing things apart with yellow tape blocking the door way. The noise of the jack hammer working on tile was deafening. Construction dust was everywhere. You could trip on uneven areas on the floor. It even went into the elevators. We were dressing up to attend events and walking through a total constructon nightmare. If I had been told I would NEVER have stayed there. One of our group was on the first floor next to the mess and had to enter the room outside because the hallway was closed to get to their room. They had 2 small kids that needed to nap and the noise was horrible. I told the GM you should have closed this hotel during the construction instead of subjecting paying guests to this mess. Totally inexcusable and a very poor way to run a business. They scammed the hosts of the weekend because they were never told about this beforehand. We complained and received on free night because of the 100% satisfaction that Hampton Inns offer. Didn't cover the aggravation of the experience.

The suite was one large room no divider to separate the bedroom with sitting area. Shower pressure was not strong. Beds were comfortable. Cooling system cycled loudly and distubrbed sleep. If you turned the temperature up one degree it would kick on the heat! Totally messed up system.

Breakfast was nice and plenty of choices. Staff was friendly. Couldn't sit long due to the construction underfoot and the noise level.

Place might be nice once completed, but right now it's terrible and the management of this hotel should be totally and completely ashamed of the manner in which guests were exposed to this construction nightmare!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hampton Inn Detroit/Novi. On behalf of the entire staff at the hotel, we sincerely apologize for the renovation construction of our lobby that began just prior to your arrival. We tried to do all possible to minimize any inconvenience to our guests by making sure the construction equipment did not begin until after breakfast hours and completed by 5 PM. Your satisfaction is very important to us and I’m happy to learn you received a complimentary night stay due to our 100% satisfaction guarantee. We appreciated your comments about our friendly staff and good breakfast. We hope you will consider staying with us again as we would love for you to enjoy the improvements we made to our property. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Cheryl Cox
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    96
    29
    15
    7
See reviews for
201
82
38
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
249 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and it was very comfortable. The hot breakfast was awesome & the bed was real comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Takemetoalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Nice property; very clean; friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was included, very average typical serve yourself small buffet but changed some selections every morning which was nice.
Hallways felt like the building was not strongly built, could feel "give" and heard noises like it was wood sub floors which is unusual in a multi storey newer building.
Price was very competitive, close enough to Novi and lots of shopping and dining.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonN099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I have stayed their when the power was out in my home. The service is good but the room was not clean and the carpet was dated. Their are better options in that area of Novi.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awesomereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is a newer hotel and one of the nicer Hamptons Inn I've stayed at. Room were extremely clean, esp. the bathroom, and staff was friendly, courteous, and professional. Internet access was also strong and reliable. The room also came with a microwave and a mini-fridge, which I also appreciated.

I was a little concerned about potential noise since I'm very noise sensitive and the hotel is located on a major intersection. Based on previous reviews, I asked for a room facing the pond and did not have any problems.

There are restaurants within driving distance and a movie theater within walking distance. Target/Meijer and some other stores are about 5 minutes down the road. Easy highway access to get to Tweleve Oaks Mall and other destinations in Novi.

There was a mix-up with my bill during my stay, and the clerk at the front desk was very apologetic and even offered me a $25 gas card for the inconvenience. He wasn't able to resolve the issue and the manager was not available, but I believe he went the extra mile to try to remedy the situation. (And the billing error did get resolved).

Although I stayed here on vacation, I'll keep this property in mind for future business trips as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pond away from the interstate if you're noise-sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

The service at this hotel really stood out. The front desk was friendly and helpful. The lady serving breakfast was so personable and happy to refill or get what we asked for. The manager's reception on Wednesday evening was really nice and appreciated- mostacolli, breadsticks, and a wonderful surf and turf salad was served. We enjoyed using the pool every evening. Our room was clean and comfortable. Again, from the manager on down, everyone we came across was smiling and helpful. A very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wright861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
207 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed here on business this week. The hotel is pretty good overall and my room would have been nice if their housekeeping staff was properly doing their job. The bathroom overall was clean but it was the shower had not been properly maintained by housekeeping. There was a walk in shower with a sliding glass door. The floor of the shower had a raised pebble like texture to it and I instantly noticed that there was darker, discolored areas of dirt and stains that had not been properly cleaned in the texture. The housekeeping manager should have noticed this when doing room checks. It was gross and I wore my flip flops while I showered because I was not about to go barefoot. In the hotel's defense, when I called them to alert them of the shower problem they did offer to let me switch rooms but by the time I noticed the problem I was already unpacked and going to bed and did not feel like changing rooms. The rest of the room was clean except for the heater. The vent had lots of dust/dirt build up inside which again should not have been overlooked by housekeeping. The hotel did offer to not charge me and I declined and wanted to pay for my stay. Upon leaving, they did give me a $25 BP Fuel gift card. I would not stay here again because I do not think the property is well managed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hobiecatsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTTNI, General Manager at Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road, responded to this review, February 18, 2012
Hello Hobiecatsailor,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us last month. I appreciate your feedback and am glad that although your experience with our textured shower floor and heater vent was not up to par, our front desk service and the balance of the guest room did meet your expectations. We take pride in our cleanliness and service and are ranked #2 out of 31 Hampton Inns through the state and also among the top Hampton Inns throughout the world consistently receiving the "Circle of Excellence" award. I'm sorry that the room you stayed in didn't reflect this same level cleanliness. Please be assured that your experience and feedback has been shared with our Housekeeping Department to help insure that this doesn't happen again. Feel free to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance either now or in the future. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Ernie Backalar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Novi hotels
3.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Detroit Commerce
4.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Novi
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road

Property: Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road
Address: 169 Loop Road, Commerce Township, Novi, MI 48390
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Novi
#1 Business Hotel in Novi
#1 Family Hotel in Novi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within just a few miles of our Hampton Inn® hotel in Detroit/Novi at 14 Mile Road, you'll find plenty to do-from the diverse shopping of Twelve Oaks Shopping Mall to golf courses, waterslides and skiing at Kensington Metropark. We are also located minutes away from some of the top companies in Michigan, including the Nissan Technical Center, Ryder, Kroger Company, Jalpak, Farmers Insurance and many more. All in all, we think you'll agree our hotel in Novi is a novel place to live and work. Here at the Hampton Inn Detroit/Novi at 14 Mile Road, we're passionate about taking good care of you. That's why we offer a broad range of services and amenities to make your stay exceptional. Whether you're planning a corporate meeting or need accommodations for a family reunion or your child's sporting group, we're delighted to offer you easy planning and booking tools to make the process quick and organized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi At 14 Mile Road Hotel Novi
Hampton Inn Commerce
Commerce Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing