We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Udon ever”
Review of Ajishin

Ajishin
Ranked #6 of 194 Restaurants in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Udon ever”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is the best udon ever I had in my life. The variety is limited, but what is offered is excellent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    39
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
1 review
“my daily lunch place”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

a small family type Japanese restaurant, serving all the basic Japanese dishes. My fav is the undo noodle, usually comes with the Today's special.
It used to be nimble and warm place served by Japanese ladies. With its fast expansion and growingly busy business, the waitresses are most of non-Japanese, sort of feeling weird but it is okay.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank emilywpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favorite Authentic Japanese Restaurant in the Detroit area!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I must admit that this review comes late out of sheer laziness in giving Ajishin their just praises! I love this place and the people who run it! I eat here 2x/week and I have for years now! They are the real deal. There is a reason why this place is packed ALL THE TIME. The food is just excellent and priced just right. The sushi is fresh and good quality and the chef really knows his stuff. This the THE place where Japanese businessmen eat because the quality is excellent and authentic. The udon soups and sushi are the best that I have had in the Detroit area and the daily specials are to be taken seriously! Great staff, but be prepared to get there early for a seat as it packs it in with customers. People are happy to wait because they know that they are going to have a great meal. Highly Recommended!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 227RobertD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best sushi restaurant in the area!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. The food and service is always wonderful. The only downside is the restaurant is small so there is always wait (no reservations only call a heads) and those waiting can spill into the areas were people are eating.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Udon and Sushi”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place has the best udon in southeast Michigan, and I've eaten udon at virtually every Japanese restaurant in the area. I also work with a number of Japanese expats, one of them who is a "foodie" took me here for my first visit. I go here at least once a week, the noodles, especially the soup, are peerless. Sushi is wonderful too and reasonably priced, but it's Japanese style: no giant slabs of fish that can't be eaten in one bite, and no ridiculous rolls that have been deep fried or slathered with cream cheese. Just straight up traditional Japanese sushi. If you like this sort of thing, you owe it to yourself to go here. If you go for lunch, you have to get there right when they open at 11:30 or wait until 1:45 or so, otherwise there is going to be a lengthy wait. Same deal with dinner, go early or late.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryMcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ajishin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing