We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try if you're in Novi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Border Cantina

Border Cantina
Ranked #65 of 191 Restaurants in Novi
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Novi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a try if you're in Novi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Food is good, service is good, and prices are fair. I've been there many times and haven't had a bad meal yet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    14
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Like I Remember”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Border Cantina was a family favorite while growing up. We recently moved back to the area and have given Border Cantina a try, twice. Both times have been gross. The restaurant has become run down and is in desperate need of updating. The employees are out back smoking- both times we have parked. The chips and salsa were good, but my meal recently was unappetizing. The food came out almost immediately and I think my enchiladas had been sitting out and just been warmed up. the cheese was hard and only warm in some spots. Not good. Won't be going back. Don't recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DetroitareaKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesley, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Novi Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great Mexican and great prices
Go a little later to avoid rush. Big servings!! Great margaritas
Lots of chips

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drillerkc74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Margaritas are the best here. Great chips and salsa. I had a chicken quesidia not sure of the spelling and it was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our choice for Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our family has chosen Border Cantina for Mexican food for the past several years. The food is always good, always consistant, and the wait staff is very attentive. This is a great alternative to the chain Mexican restaurant. It does get extremely busy for dinner on Friday and Saturday - don't know about the other days. Portions are generous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanCado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Border Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing