We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Cafe

China Cafe
Ranked #7 of 190 Restaurants in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great top notch food, much better than average Chinese. It is more on par with PF Chang, but significantly less cost. We had lettuce wraps, General Tao Chicken, and Firecracker Chicken and all were fantastic.
It doesn't look like much from the outside, but he restaurant is very well appointed, nice bar area and tables in the main dining area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    30
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Top Pick In The Northwest Detroit Suburbs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

China Cafe, just down the road from the sprawling Twelve Oaks Shopping Center in Novi, is our usual destination after a day of shopping. China Cafe is not large, but there is usually ample space without a wait, except maybe on Friday or Saturday evenings ... and then it has a nice bar area to make the wait easier. The menu transcends the usual and leans toward the Hunan and spicy side of Chinese cooking. But they are quite able to adjust the "heat" index for just about any palate. The combination beef/shrimp in a tangy sauce is our favorite. Service is great and friendly and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank edlexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sanilac, Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very,very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We often meet family here. Food is good quality and well prepared. We have always been happy with our selections and we've tried just about everything. Definitely not a run of the mill Chinese restaurant! Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank KathrynSews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Better than P.F. Chang's. A bit pricey.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very good quality. Most entrees $ 10-15 and up. Almost all Ala-carte menu, so soup is extra. No rolls served with dinner, only won-ton crisps. The lettuce-wraps were very good. (For a slightly-better price, try P.F. Chang's "fixed" price menu. It comes with lettuce-wraps, soup and a small dessert.) Otherwise, this is a good local alternative to B.F. Chang's and the food might even be a little better. Very busy when we were there. Does not appear to offer carry-out, but not sure. I assume that lunch is a little cheaper.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike_48128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“WONDERFUL!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Excellent food..warm and friendly service! Whenever we wanted Chinese food, we would go to a popular Chinese food chain restaurant near the area. We googled best Chinese food in Metro Detroit and China Cafe came up...they were sooo right! My husband and I have made this our new favorite restaurant! Highly recommend China Cafe.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Blair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Cafe also viewed

 

Been to China Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing