We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Bed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Comfortable Bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked this hotel through Hotwire, $44 per night. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I was sort of disappointed with their "free breakfast" as the choices were very few. My husband was told to not use the pool area/ hot tub one morning, until the pool people came, but then again, the water was greenish in color and was in need of some attention. There was crumbly and severe rust around the windows in the pool area as well. The hotel room bathroom was clean, but the shower head was an original-small. The complimentary toiletries, usually provided, somehow were forgotten in our bathroom, and the frontdesk accomodated us with them accordingly. Very nice staff! Overall, the hotel was clean and pretty nice, we've stayed in better, we've stayed in worse. Apparently they are renovating the place, and that is why the one wing on the first floor was "blocked off". Hopefully the renovations will take place throughout this hotel, as it is a bit dated. The dinosaur of the TV in our room was evidence of that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    14
    12
    17
See reviews for
21
13
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,134 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Novi Inn and Suites has a strange smell in the hallways and the elevator.

The first time I used the elevator, it smelled like someone had Chinese food gas, and let it go in the elevator. The hallways have a hint of nursing-home or hospital smell. When first entering the room, it smelled like housekeeping sprayed a fair amount of Lysol in the room. Just like when visiting someone in a medical setting for a while, you become used to it and don't notice... untill you leave and return after a while.

The room was average in layout and had an older tube-type TV. The bed was comfortable, and was probably the best feature of the room. Don't get too excited... the bed was average, but better than the other features of the room.

The bathroom is a comfortable size and actually has a lot of counterspace. The soap provided had a strong odor, and it was not particularly pleasant.

This hotel provides a free breakfast, but it is very basic. There are four breakfast cereals: Frosted Flakes, Regular Corn Flakes, Rice Krispies, and Rasin Bran. Bread and bagels and muffins are also included in the breakfast area. Coffee and juice, as well as skim and regular milk are provided.

If I got this place at a very low Priceline or Hotwire bid, I'd be OK with staying here, but I wouldn't spend more than the average two star rated price for the Novi Inn and Suites.

Room Tip: Check out the functionality of the toilet and TV and lights before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business in Oct 2012. The hotel is very basic, no frills. The room was clean but the hallway and room both had a stale odor. There was one wing of the first floor that was sealed off. No reason was given. The Inn still use bedspreads which I can't stand because I know they are not cleaned on a normal basis. The internet worked well. The breakfast was very weak, ceral, coffee and toast. This place used to be a Country Inn and Suites and you can find a few reviews about it under that name. I would not choose to stay here again. I used Hotwire as requested by our company and that is how I ended up here. The location is good in Novi close to resturants and shopping. If you get past the smell in the hallway and room it is ok if you just need a place to stay. Old style TV if that is important to you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJP76244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I Was pleasantly surprised. The Bed was very comfy and room was good for the price. Decor was a little outdated and it was nothing fancy. But for a cheap room it had the best bed that out did more expensive hotels. I Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ateegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The name has been changed to Novi Inn and Suites. Affordable, and probably your best bang for your buck in Novi. The room was clean, very quiet, and the pool was inviting. If you are looking for a good budget hotel, you cannot go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgringoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel stinks! Once you make a reservation, you're hooked into paying for all nights you have booked -- even if you plan to leave a day early. For customers, this "policy" is inflexible and costly. Even though the reservation was through my name, and I had the "itinerary" or confirmation number, Expedia said I had to see that my wife "officially" checked out. The hotel refused to do so, even though my wife was telling the desk clerk so in person. The hotel clerk also refused to give me the general manager or owner's name so I could simply register my disappointment with one of these people. So, if you have to check out early, be prepared to pay for an empty room!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

There was no one in the hotel...bit creepy. Our room, instead of being close, was on the top floor near the end of the corridor. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. Hotel clerk only OK. Don't think I'll stay here again. Discount coupon was not valid. Hotel was still sealed off...infestation?
(See Ruthie101)

Room Tip: Check room beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noisy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novi
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Detroit-Novi
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at ...
#1 of 1 in Commerce Township
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Novi
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
5.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson

Property: Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
Address: 21625 Haggerty Rd, Novi, MI 48375-5310 (Formerly Quality Inn and Suites)
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing