We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, United States
1 review
“Bad Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The check-in clerk outright lied about occupany until I mentioned my hilton honors status, then miraculously she was able to find multiple vacant rooms. Im a 32 year old white male & was in a suit & tie so I dont believeI was "profiled" I think the clerk was outright lazy. So because the stay was last minute & I didnt feel like typing all of my info on my phone for a reservation, I was nearly denied a room, then eventually charged 4 times the internet rate. The room was ok, however, Im not crazy about having to keep a room key in the wall to keep the power on. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGINoviGM, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to apologize for your recent experience with the front desk. Our goal is to make sure that you are 100% satisfied with the hotel. It appears that we did not meet our goal. If you get some time in your busy schedule, I would like to better understand exaclty what happened. I can be reached at the hotel Monday - Friday 8am - 5pm weekdays. I look forward to speaking with you in the near future.

Sincererly
William Holper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    133
    29
    8
    13
See reviews for
109
61
21
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here multiple times for the past 3 or 4 years. It is a great business hotel especially for Hilton Honors members.

Staff are always helpful. Rooms are very clean. And beds are very comfortable

I have never had a real problem here and have stayed probably 40 times. Overall it is an excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meal_reviewer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

On 5/19, the day of our checkout, Kevin was manning the front desk. He was extremely helpful when asked for the name of a local restaurant for breakfast and even printed out directions. The restaurant was as good as promised. He was genuinely happy to help and genuinely glad that we enjoyed his recommendation. He was also very thorough and knowledgeable about some charges that I had seen in my bank account from the hotel. He explained why they were there and why they would eventually drop off. A number of people in out party who dealt with him mentioned his enthusiasm. We also ran into another staff member named Ashley in the lobby when we were checking out and she was very friendly. we had a great conversation about lacrosse (the reason for our visit) and it turns out we had some friends in common. The lobby and rooms were clean and pleasant. Close to shopping and food. Easy to get to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graqnger
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great staff, super location, makes each and every stay there and comfortable as one could every except. I have numerous business associates who also stay that this facility and they share the same positive compliments about the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijamsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the third year in a row that I have come to Novi to enjoy the annual scrapbooking convention, Great Lakes Mega Meet. Each time I have stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn in Novi. What a treat. The rooms have been consistently comfortable and clean. The continental breakfast has been consistently fresh and varied (and tasty, too).

The best part of our stay has been the staff. They are genuinely friendly and helpful, from the front desk personnel to the kitchen staff. I would especially like to single out Eddie from Room Service. He was so helpful in his suggestions for our dining enjoyment. He went out of his way to call us back when we asked him about a box lunch for the following day and he delivered a fresh tasty treat. We enjoyed his personable and professional demeanor...and the food as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Top notch hotel with close proximity to shopping, dining and major highways in the Detroit area. Friendly staff only added to the premium accommodations and amenities, which is always a nice plus in these times where customer service is sometimes lacking. Thank you to management and staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were very happy and comfortable during our 5 night stay over a very busy weekend. The staff was friendly, helpful and well trained. Breakfast was well worth the money -- convenient, delicious and with very good service. The first floor room had a great bed, high ceilings and felt quite spacious. Free wifi worked well, as did the individual HVAC units. We will stay there whenever we're back in the Detroit area - which is often.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Novi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
0.7 mi away
The Baronette Renaissance Detroit-Novi Hotel
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Novi
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
Address: 27355 Cabaret Drive, Novi, MI 48377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Novi
#1 Business Hotel in Novi
#2 Green Hotel in Novi
#3 Family Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located mid-way between Detroit and Ann Arbor, the Hilton Garden Inn Novi Detroit hotel in Novi, Michigan is convenient to all major expressways and for visits to Rock Financial Showplace, Twelve Oaks Mall, and the Detroit Zoo. Guest rooms offer a mini-refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. The property also features on-site dining, an indoor pool, and whirlpool. Japanese breakfast, TV Japan, and Japanese Newspapers are also available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi Hotel Novi
Hilton Garden Inn Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing