We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Emotions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 14, 2012

On March 6th I reserved 2 nights at the GLMM rate ($89.99 per night with free breakfast) for myself and my daughter for Mothers Day weekend. This was the 5th time we have stayed here in the past 7 years for this convention and its always been fantastic.
The Sunday before we left I found out my bank card was skimmed so I spent Monday am at the bank closing out things and getting new stuff. That afternoon I called the hotel and informed them I would not have the card I made the reservation with as I was waiting on a new one, and I was told it would be NO problem.
We arrived to early to check in so went dirrectly to the convention and went back to check in around 4PM, at which we were told there was no room available! I had confirmed reservations so obviously I started complaining and after about 15 miniutes we got keys for room #329. After recieving the keys I was told there would be an additional $50.00 deposit because I chose to pay cash (since I didnt have my card). I asked to speek to the Manager on Duty and Hiba came out. I explained to her I was a victim of fraud and I was waiting on a new bank card and that I had called ahead and was told it would not be a probem so I didnt being the paperwork from the Police Department. She was unprofessional and unexperienced and basically listened while the other desk clerk talked, and then informed me I could pay one night now with the extra $50.00 and the other night in the am. And after I paid they would give me the $50.00 back. I asked did 16 hours really matter as the whole point was the additional money b/c I had no way to access my account, but I was falling on deaf ears so rather than stand there and argue I paid the additional money and went up to the room.
The room was nice and clean but the refrigator did not work, we unpacked and went back to the convention and it was after midnight before we got back to the room. In the morning after showering I realized the hair dryer did not work either. I stoped at the desk on the way out that morning and told Jeri but she acted as if she could care less.
When we got back to the room later that evening I still so upset I went straight up to the room, expecting the refrigator and hair dryer to have been replaced or at least checked, but it appeared neither was taken care of so I went back down to the desk and was told they were fully booked and there was nothing they could do. At this time I also informed them that closset door was also broke and hanging off the bracket, their were pre-teens runing up and down the halls until about 2am last night, and that the hot tub was full of kids so we could not use that either. Again I fell on deaf ears.
We went back to the convention, had dinner and came back around 8PM. The following morning as we were leaving the elevator was not working properly so when we had to take the stairs down from the 3RD floor with all our luggage only to get to the first floor and realized the door was locked and had to exit from the emergency exit and walk around the entire building before comming in the lobby area. I was beyond upset by this time: then a young man walked up and remembered us from previous years saying is name was Ryan and he was now the General Manager and could not believe that nothing was adressed, he appoliged several times (something no one else took the time to do) and told us everyone was basically new and unexperienced to handle problems yet, includig his new manager Hiba. He immeditally filled out paper work, called in a work order for the room and issued us a 100% in full refund and said he was looking forward to seeing us in 2013. I was very pleased when we left and will now return since everything was adressed.

Room Tip: Avoid #329 until problems are adressed, ask for Ryan if you have any probelms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwondrasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Novi. It is nice to know that you have chosen to stay with us since our opening in 2008. I understand that Ryan, Front Desk Supervisor, was able to address all concerns and compensate you for any difficulties you may have experienced. If your plans bring you back to Novi next year, I would like to personally handle your reservations. I can be reached at the hotel during normal business hours.

Sincerely,

Bill Holper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 506 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

I have stayed here two times. Once for work and once for leisure. It's in a great location, it's clean, and well kept. The staff is very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Overall, a good hotel during my stay with only some minor noise issues.

Pros - clean, spacious room; fast internet; walking distance to some stores and shops. Twelve Oaks Mall is less then a 5 minute drive. Easy highway access; sits back from 12 Mile Road.

Cons - although the property sits back from 12 Mile Road, you can hear a faint hum from the nearby highway. The walls between rooms are also thin. I could hear my neighbor as he was talking on the phone late at night. I called the front desk and they let me switch rooms, which was a plus.

Nice hotel, but I don't know if I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Novi last March. I am glad to hear that the front desk staff worked to rectify you concern with the noise. As a frequent traveler I hope you would understand that it can be challenging to control all noise from internal and external sources. We do offer rooms away from the highway and with only one adjoining wall. The next time your travel plans bring you back to Novi, please give me a call directly so I may personally handle your reservation.

Sincerely,

Bill Holper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Recently I was traveling for Business in the Detroit area and stayed with the Hilton Garden Inn. Great Hotel very clean and well cared for. I spoke to the GM and shared that I thought that this property was very nice and you can tell that he really enjoyed being in the Hotel Industry.
Pool could be a little warmer.

Room Tip: Try a top level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKBelanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This place isn't much different than other Hilton's I've stayed at. The service is good, the rooms are clean and the staff is helpful.

The breakfast was better than I had anticipated. Fresh omelettes every morning and the selection of cereal and other items was very good.

The fitness room wasn't too bad either. It had a couple treadmills, an elliptical and a bike, plus some free weights and exercise balls. It was much better than many hotels I've been in. The pool on hot tub area seemed well kept as well, although I didn't use the facility so I can't say for sure but I did see many people using it and they all seemed quite happy.

Overall it was a pleasant stay. My only complaint is that the beds have those dials that are supposed to adjust the firmness of the mattresses but I don't think they work. I've tried them before in other Hilton Garden Inns and the beds still feels quite hard even on the softest setting, but I still slept fine so not a huge deal. The pillows were at least really comfy.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyDij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I was a bit leery of staying here with some negative reviews i saw about this place. However this place was great the customer service was great the whole place great. I think that Jeri and Abby Gale were great very helpful and bent over backwards to help me out. I would come here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinman925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I am staying for the second time in this hotel. Like the last time my entire body was itching after the first night and throughout the whole day. I did not pay too much attention to that at first. Then by coincidence I found 2 other guests with the same problem.
We suspected the chemicals in the detergent for the linen or towels to be the reason - but that is only a guess.
Talking to the hotel manager he seemed to have little interest in the topic and appeared not only not alarmed but answered along the lines: We have never had anyone complain in the last years and we have tested the chemicals and that is why there is no problem.
I offered several solutions (we could wash linen in the washing room next door and then test if I have an improvement) but he seemed more interested in ending his shift than to help me.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank paolo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Novi last March. I apologize for the lack of compassion that the individual showed regarding your concern. The comfort of our guest during their stay is extremely important and takes top priority. Since your stay the hotel has installed a new laundry system that requires fewer chemicals to clean our linens. Although we cannot completely eliminate chemical use in the process, this drastically reduces the amount applied. I would be happy to discuss any further questions you may have.

Sincerely,

Bill Holper, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Novi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
1.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Novi
4.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi

Address: 27355 Cabaret Dr, Novi, MI 48377-3324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Novi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Novi
#2 Green Hotel in Novi
#3 Family Hotel in Novi
Price Range: $90 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located mid-way between Detroit and Ann Arbor, the Hilton Garden Inn Novi Detroit hotel in Novi, Michigan is convenient to all major expressways and for visits to Rock Financial Showplace, Twelve Oaks Mall, and the Detroit Zoo. Guest rooms offer a mini-refrigerator, microwave, and complimentary high-speed Internet Access. The property also features on-site dining, and an indoor pool. Japanese breakfast, TV Japan, and Japanese Newspapers are also available at this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi Hotel Novi
Hilton Garden Inn Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing