We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Stop. Friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Novi
Certificate of Excellence
Odenville, Alabama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quick Stop. Friendly helpful staff”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I only had a brief overnight stay but ran in to secure a room and the front desk was very helpful with finding me the best rate and also giving me a room close to the entrance for convenience since I am a smoker (all hotels in Michigan are non-smoking now).

Breakfast pretty usual fare. If you want or like hot, it is edible but not really great. But it is free so who can complain overmuch.

Pretty airport accessible - about 20 minute drive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYNDIG901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    45
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
35
12
2
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I picked this hotel for a business trip in the Country Club corporate park, since it was right down the road. The front desk clerk was super helpful and efficient in getting us checked in and providing suggestions for good restaurants in the area. The room was very nice and clean, and the bed was pretty comfortable! The towels and washcloths were the softest linens in any hotel stay that I can remember.
Now for the cons....the bathtub wasn't conducive to laying back to relax since it didn't have the recline angle in it, though. And most importantly, the walls were paper thin. I could hear the conversations and the TV from the room next to me. You could tell that the gentleman wasn't shouting, just having a regular conversation, and I could hear every word he said. My colleague said the same of her room as well. Out of all the things to cut corners on in building a hotel, this seems like the last thing to do so.

Overall I enjoyed my stay, but I'm not sure I would stay here again simply due to the fact that I'm a light sleeper and would prefer to not hear everything my neighbors say or do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessic2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed only one night in a room with a king size bed. While the mattress itself was comfortable, the pillows were awful. Labeled as, "soft," or "firm," they both felt the same...like sleeping on a brick. The temperature of the room was also hard to regulate-fine if the air conditioning was running, but hot & stuffy when the unit cycled off. I recommend switching the fan from 'auto' to 'on' so the air will continually circulate. We very much enjoyed the shower; the shower head is oversized & the water pressure good (there is nothing I hate more then feeling like the shower is just trickling out!). I requested an in-room refrigerator & was given one for no extra fee. I can't speak to the breakfast as we were heading out quickly & just grabbed some bagels & fruit to eat on the road, but the cinnamon rolls looked yummy. Overall, I found the staff to be friendly & accommodating, the price reasonable, liked the location & the fact that the hotel was quiet. I would recommend & stay here again, but with my own pillow!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footballwidow1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear footballwidow1111,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We were particularly pleased to read your encouraging comments about our location, price and staff. I am glad you enjoyed the shower and found our hotel quiet. I have noted your comments regarding the air conditioner and the pillows. Thank you for bringing these to our attention. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie Dayag
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Fairly new hotel with a good, free breakfast that had hot and cold items (Holiday Inn cinnamon rolls, bacon or sausage, scrambled eggs, biscuits, pancakes, fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, toast, muffins, danish, milk, coffee, fruit juice machine). Coffee is available 24/7. Internet at the "business center" was incredibly slow, and WiFi did not work in my room (this was VERY disappointing). Hotel was clean, but not sparkling. For the lights to stay on in your room, you have to put one of your keycards in the slot next to the light switch when you enter. The desk lamp or reading lights by the beds can still be left on, though, so you don't have to come back from dinner to a dark room. Bathroom was nice, and a decent size, however I wish the vanity was outside the bathroom. That allows you to brush your teeth, etc. without waiting for someone to get out of the shower. Overall, nice - typical for this price range. I was not wowed, but it is certainly sufficient for family, business, and solo travel. For friends or couples, splurge for something more higher-end if you can. The best features are that the hotel is pretty new, and the breakfast is good. Go elsewhere for Internet. Best wishes!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishdancer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is a newer Holiday Inn Express. My own major complaint of this hotel is that the walls are very thin. There is really no excuse to make the walls with so little sound insulation. People next door could easily be heard talking on the phone and they were not even talking that loud. One neighbor woke me up at 6:30 when he started to talk on his phone.

There is a large breakfast area. The breakfast is a little better than the average free hotel breakfast found at other hotels. The rooms are wells kept and the bed was comfortable. The AC unit was rather loud. No issues with the staff. I had a group rate for the hotel and it was very reasonable. That may be a reason to consider the hotel.

There is a Ruby Tuesday that is next door to the hotel. Other restaurants are a short drive from the hotel.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Baxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Baxman,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced with your room. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Went for a meeting in Farmington Hills and stayed at this hotel for one night. This is a newer hotel, very clean and modern, good location. Room was clean and well appointed, comfortable and great bed - the furnace wasn't noisy either and that is always something that I hope for! Clean, decent but nice breakfast area with quite a few choices. Definitely will stay here again when I come in the area for meetings.

Room Tip: I like Panera Bread, so there is one just down the road going East. Also other restaurants near by a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this room for a romantic evening! The jacuzzi was huge and clean! The room was spacious, clean and modern! The location was perfect and the price couldn't be beat! I will always stay here from now on and have recommended it to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronna1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Novi hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit/Novi
4.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Novi
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Novi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Detroit - Novi
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Novi
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi
Address: 39675 W 12 Mile Rd, Novi, MI 48377-3605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Novi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Novi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our brand new hotel in Novi, Michigan is located a half-hour outside Detroit, at M-5 & 12 Mile Rd., the new Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Detroit Novi provides comfortable accommodations near many of suburban Detroit s best businesses & leisure attractions. Business travelers lodging in Novi, Michigan can enjoy our Novi, MI hotel convenient access to several convention & sports arenas including the Rock Financial Showplace, CompuWare Arena & Novi Ice Arena. Nearby businesses include; Nissan, Ryder, ITC, Bosch, Hewlett Packard & MI CAT. Additionally, this Novi hotel has a 24-hour business center & two meeting rooms. Avid shoppers will find several shopping centers within one mile of our Novi hotel near Detroit. The Twelve Oaks Mall & Novi Towne Center are all just a short drive away. Other Detroit - Novi attractions include the Detroit Casinos, Ford Field, Comerica Park, the Holocaust Memorial Center & Second City Comedy Nightclub. While lodging in Novi, Michigan, you can stay connected with the free HSIA & you can enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast bar. Keep up your workout routines with the indoor pool & a well-equipped fitness center. On your next trip to the Detroit area, come Stay Smart at our new Novi, MI hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Detroit-Novi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Detroit-Novi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing