We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service, excellent value.”
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
Ranked #8 of 194 Restaurants in Novi
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, excellent value.”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A great place for our group to enjoy a birthday celebration. Our server Amber, was knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. Our new favorite restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    66
    45
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
2 reviews
“Bonefish Rocks”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Good quality food with friendly staff members who welcome you. I recommend the Bang Bang Shrimp for those who like spice and shrimp combined. We've been here many times, and each visit makes me want to come again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Runningflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service in a Wonderful Setting”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I had heard some very positive things about the Bonefish Grill in Novi, MI and decided to see for ourselves last Sunday. We invited a friend, arrived about 2:00 for a late lunch and were greeted by a very friendly hostess, who seated us immediately. The room is an open one, yet appears warm and inviting, partially a beautiful decor and some fine art work and partially because it's laid out as an assortment of booths and tables, with the tables being arranged for diverse numbers of diners. Some of the tables were set for couples, some for foursomes, some for larger groups. Despite icy road conditions, there were a number of tables filled and the crowd continued to grow as we enjoyed our meal. Although the room does not appear immense, I counted 50 tables in the main room, so I imagine it can be quite full at times. We could hear other conversations, but the excellent acoustical tiling in the ceiling muted everything, so what we heard was just the pleasant sound of people chatting and laughing. As soon as we were seated, our waitress arrived with a beautiful smile and a musical voice, welcomed us to Bonefish and asked about our beverages. This cheerful, attentive and professional server with a terrific sense of humor turned out to be the highlight of our delightful afternoon and if you ever visit the grill, ask to be seated in Kate's section if you want to make your experience even more enjoyable. She was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine choices and helped us select some excellent dishes. We stayed for almost three hours because we were having such a wonderful time and when we were getting ready to leave, we told Kate that our nickname for her was now "Kate the Great." Great room, great decor, great meal, great wine, great staff and great Kate. What more could a diner want?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorHM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very disappointing seafood meal and poor vegetarian option”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Staying in Novi for a couple days, we tried this place as a close restaurant to our hotel that was able to accommodate us without a reservation on New Years Eve, and we saw that it was well reviewed on Tripadvisor. One of us is a vegetarian so we asked the host about the options before being seated, we were told there were things they could do, so we were seated after a very short wait which was all great. It is a nice looking restaurant and good casual atmosphere. We were confused why all the servers wear chef uniforms though, it seems inappropriate.
The waitress was flustered at the question of a vegetarian option, and we had to ask if they could do an entree size of one of their side dishes (ravioli) or something off menu. She had to ask the host (not the kitchen, why?), and ultimately we got a double order of the side squash raviolis for an entree, which seemed like a fine option. The ravioli lacked sauce, and came with fried onion shavings sprinkled on top, which were more like dehydrated onions and spoiled the flavour.
Appetizers were a beet and goat cheese salad which was fine, and a ceviche which was overcooked.
Our other entree was a swordfish from their specials menu. Again it was overcooked. VERY disappointing for a place specializing in seafood. We will not be back to another bonefish grill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Food, service and decor all excellent. Only drawback, it can noisy and this visit was one of those times.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing