We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Detroit Northville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit Northville
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Northville
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

One of the best Hampton Inn's I have stayed in. Great customer service, great breakfast, and 2 of the 5 days I stayed there they had free beer, cookies, Sloppy Joes, and chili! Room wasn't large but was adequate and clean. Same with the bathroom. Nicely decorated as well. Internet worked great and the work desk was nice with plugs conveniently located on the desk. Awesome location with tons of restaurants, shopping (Target, Kohl's, Home Depot, etc...), grocery stores, and convenience stores and the surrounding area was very nice (unlike Detroit). I was very surprised at how nice it was based on the horror stories about Detroit you hear on the news. Once you get out of Detroit proper things change for the better.

Four places I discovered that you may want to check out if you are an outdoorsy person.

1. Drive down the road that goes through Hines Park. The north end of the drive is maybe 10 minutes from the hotel. Gorgeous scenery.
2. Kensington Metropark. Beautiful park with a large lake, hiking trails, paddle boats, and a working farm that you can tour for free and see all the animals. Probably a 20 minute Drive.
3. Nichols Arboretum on the University of Michigan campus. Hiking trails with hills and beautiful foliage located on the banks of the Huron River. Probably a 30 minute drive from the hotel.
4. Heritage Park. Not as big as the previous 3 parks, but a short drive from the hotel and again, amazing scenery. Kids can play in the above ground water park (no need to swim here) and there are quite a few trails, one of which crosses a small river over a wood bridge. Plenty of deer walking around and I believe it has a visitors center geared towards kids. Once you get in it, you would never know you were in a big city.

Downtown Plymouth is a great place to walk around with plenty of restaurants and shops. If you like sports, check out the Ironwood Grill. Great pizza!. Downtown Plymouth is also close by Hines Park.

Room Tip: The walls are soundproof, but the doors do let some sound in. So don't get a room near the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Climb_Big_Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review! We appreciate your letting other travelers know about the Hampton Inn-Northville and the surrounding area. You're a great tour guide! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    109
    42
    18
    6
See reviews for
92
75
30
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The Thai Fresh restaurant in walking distance as well as trader Joes was awesome! Overall clean and great service! In a nice area and people are friendly! Outside of hotel is old but the rooms were nice kinda small but clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlebird40504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for the nice review regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We truly appreciate your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your visit with us. Looking forward to having you as our guest again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here with my grandma for a night in March around the Easter holiday. The beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was sufficient. My main concern was with the heat/cooling in the room; over the course of the evening, the room was quite a bit warmer than we would have liked. Perhaps given that it was only April, the cooling was not on; however, there was no way to open the window or otherwise bring fresh air into the room from outside.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We apologize for the temperature in your guest room. Try as we might, this time of year sometimes makes it difficult to regulate the guest room climate with days fluctuating sometimes as much as 20+ degrees from day to day. Our guest room windows do open, but it appears your room had issues. Rest assured that we will double-check the situation. In the meantime, let us know at the time of your next reservation your concerns and we will make sure that there are no issues for your stay. Thanks again for your comments and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The overall Hotel was very welcoming and well appointed. There was more than ample outlets in the room and by the bed which makes it very helpful for my devices. I would highly recommend for the quality of staff and the condition of the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cyril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

During vacations, when we're ready to get off the interstate for a good night's rest after a long day of driving, we always look for the Hampton Inn sign. The freshly baked cookies they serve in the evenings along with a cup of hot coffee is a welcome treat. We never leave a Hampton Inn hungry because the complimentary breakfast bar has so many items to choose from, all of them delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Esther O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks for staying at the Hampton Inn while in Northville, MI and all the other Hamptons you frequent. We appreciate your loyal patronage and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The staff were very helpful about the local erea. They were very friendly apon meeting in the hallway. I was impressed that they always took time to say hello, and ask if everything was alright, and could they be of further service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We believe our team is the friendliest and you proved our point! Thanks for letting others know about your great experience...safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We could not have been happier with this hotel for our 5 night stay as we visited Michigan, our home state. The employees were all fantastic with their friendly, professional and helpful ways. The breakfast in the morning was super! We thoroughly enjoyed and it was our fuel that got us through the day! The coffee bar (with a variety of teas and hot chocolate) with free copies of USA Today just made us feel special. Our room was as clean as a whistle; the bed super comfortable, the bathroom a bit on the small side but the shower and water pressure were perfect. We could have used just a little bit more surface space to place belongings on in the room but we made do. The location of the hotel was perfect also. When we asked for extra pillows two were delivered to our door almost immediately. We brought a pizza back one afternoon and the desk clerk was so kind in getting plates and napkins for us. I mean they just bend over backward to make you comfortable, happy and safely secure. Can't wait to stay at this Hampton Inn again in the future.

Room Tip: You will find a Trader Joe's store within walking distance of the hotel and across Haggerty Road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myra V, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit Northville, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review regarding your recent stay at the Hampton Inn-Northville. We strive hard to make sure each guest has a great stay with us and we obviously did our job! We appreciate your letting other travelers know of your experience. Looking forward to having you as our guests again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northville
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Detroit Novi
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at 14 Mile Road
Hampton Inn - Detroit / Novi at ...
#1 of 1 in Commerce Township
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Farmington Hills
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit Northville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit Northville

Property: Hampton Inn Detroit Northville
Address: 20600 Haggerty Rd, Northville, MI 48167-1974
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Northville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Northville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit Northville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn-Detroit/Northville has 124 deluxe guest rooms and is conveniently located on the southeast corner of Haggerty Rd. At 8 Mile. Within minutes of Novi, Livonia and Farmington Hills and only 7 miles from Suburban Collection Showplace. Downtown Detroit with 3 major casinos, Comerica Park, Ford Field and Joe Louis Arena is only 30 minutes via expressway. Shopping is within 5 miles of 2 major malls. Over 25 restaurants within a 3 mile radius, with choices from casual to fine dining. All rates include FREE breakfast, FREE wireless high-speed Internet, FREE local phone calls, FREE parking, FREE guest social on Tuesday and Wednesday from 5pm-7pm with food and refreshments and beautiful outdoor pool (opened seasonally). HHonors Rewards Program available. ADA compliant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit Northville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit Northville Hotel Northville
Hampton Inn Northville
Northville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing