We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Some of the best meat I've ever had.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaucho's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gaucho's
Ranked #23 of 88 Restaurants in Northville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Notts
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Some of the best meat I've ever had.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

A group of us went here after work (it was recommended by a South American colleague) and as a place to eat for a group or family it has great atmosphere.

Service was very attentive without being intrusive and the food (we had different cooked meats served at the table) were excellent.

The only issue I had was my glass smelt "musty"; I had origionally attributed it to the type of beer but it turned out to be a very dirty glass - so that was the last I had to drink.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cran4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    27
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, nifty experience at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Okay, here's the scoop. This place is pricey, but there are ways around that. First, go for lunch. Yes, the menu is smaller, but so is the bill. Secondly, occasionally, they send out coupons for half off the second meal. Third, you go to this place for the experience, as well as the food. So, let me explain the experience.

You will be seated, just like any restaurant. Your server will ask you if you have been there before. If the answer is no, then they will tell you the following. On your table there is a card that has the word YES on one side and on the other side are the words NO THANK YOU. If the card is placed with the YES side up, then people with skewers of beef, pork, chicken or shrimp will come to your table and slice off pieces of meat for you, which you will grab with tongs and place on your plate. There is, also, a salad bar. The salad bar is okay. The best thing we ever had from the salad bar was Butternut Squash soup. It was amazing! Back to the meat, here are my top choices for the meat:

Prime Sirloin
Garlic Steak
Top Sirloin
Bottom Sirloin
Filet Mignon

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Generally really nice food, not cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The meat is perfectly marinated, but we got several pieces that were grilled/cooked for too long. Salad bar is nice but not exceptional, and the service is professional but not outstanding. A little more transparency about their pricing would also be nice. For example, they offer a nice after-dinner liquor and then charge $6 per person - many restaurants would give you a complimentary treat... We paid almost $250 for 3 persons, and we didn't even have wine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank slowlyraoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Stop here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Food is fabulous, salad bar is awesome, lots to eat, great service. Can't say anything negative.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ann marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent food at a ridiculous price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We thought we'd try the relatively new Brazilian steakhouse that opened up and things looked good at the start. We liked the concept of getting to try all different types of meat along with a decent salad and side bar. We ordered some glasses of wine and made a trip to the salad/ side bar and waited for the meat to show up. Overall, the food was pretty good, but when the bill came we were absolutely shocked (no prices on the menu). It was $45 per person not counting drinks. With our two glasses of wine and tip it was well over $100 for what I would consider decent food (Outback blows it away for about a third of the price). Needless to say, we won't be back.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angcpell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaucho's also viewed

 

Been to Gaucho's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing