We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needed to pack on the pasta for hungry hockey team” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papa Vino's

Papa Vino's
Ranked #42 of 88 Restaurants in Northville
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Needed to pack on the pasta for hungry hockey team”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

What do you do between hockey games on the weekend? You to to Papa Vino's for great and tasty pasta and chicken to feed a hungry group of Midget hockey players. We were lucky to get there before all the homecoming crowd got there so our service was quick and attentive. Been coming here for years with my parents. Will definitely come back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MyDailyNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Damifno, SC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great for a small group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had seven dining and everyone ordered Italian except me. I am the one who orders grilled rib eye. Everyone else had a traditional Italian meal and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were on a table near the rear wall and the wait staff was excellent. We stayed and talked to almost closing and no one gave us a "hurry up and leave" look or comment. Nice!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TipSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice Italian eatery.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Sizzler platters are great and economical. lots of good Italian fare at a reasonable price.
We like to occasionally order the Chicken Aribiatta as a carry out. (It is usually good for 2 meals)!
Staff has always been friendly, considerate and helpful.
Haven't had a bad meal there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cozy Italian Eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We've been to some nice Italian restaurants locally, but we just love the 'feel' here at Papa Vino's. It smells so good just walking in too. Their 'House Salad' with a slightly sweet taste to a vinaigrette base. Add Blue Cheese, and it's perfect. Their Lasagna is big and tall, and very good. Spaghetti and meatballs is filling and delicious. Just a word on their Marinara sauce. It is spicy, so If you like your sauce spicy, you'll love it. We usually go for the more tame Tomato or Meat sauce. Those are just right for us. Oh, don't forget to top it all off with their Tiramisu dessert! Wow! So light with a subtle, but very nice espresso taste. Ciao!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank papadaddyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Grreat place to meet old friends and family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We met my cousins for a get-together dinner when we visited the area. A reservation had been made, and we were given two options for large tables for our group. We were seated in a side section, which eventually was empty except for our group. The servers were wonderful, meeting all of our needs. Baguettes of bread were served in paper sleeves, and dishes of seasoned olive oil placed conveniently for everyone. The fare was Italian, and was really delicious! The calamari was divine! We sat and ate and talked for almost three hours, and they checked on us occasionally, but left us alone to reminisce and enjoy the company. I would recommend this to anyone wishing a casual, but upscale Italian meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Vino's also viewed

 

Been to Papa Vino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing