We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had higher expectations with such high prices”

Garage Grill & Fuel Bar
Ranked #5 of 87 Restaurants in Northville
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Garage... is a dining experience on Main Street at the corner of Wing Street in historic downtown Northville, Michigan. The menu is as classic as the circa 1940 service station that is home to Garage.Respectful of the past and stylish by today's trends, the restaurant, the bar and outdoor cafe are visually exciting with great views of the town. A separate "To Go" counter has been created for easy access.An important feature of Garage is the Banquet Room, an 80 seat private room which has a view of an impeccably restored 1930 Ford Model A car that creates part of the overall banquet experience.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Had higher expectations with such high prices”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Recently went here while in town for a birthday celebration. Ambiance and decor were great, and services was super nice. Service was a little slow. The food had highs and lows but entrees overall were just plain over-priced. Some disappointments were (1) calamari = sliced too thick and crunch was nonexistent due to the sauce being drizzled over top instead of on the side, (2) roasted beet salad = half of the beets were pickled and I would not have ordered a supposed roasted beet salad that included picked beets if I had known but also the golden beets had no caramelization and all of the beets were sliced too thickly, (3) green bean accompaniment with meatloaf was not cooked properly leaning heavily towards undercooked and uneatable.

Highlights were the meatloaf, Mediterranean pasta and sliders from the app menu. Also our sever, Amy, who was just delightful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grits_are_good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    72
    36
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingham Farms, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Terrific eatery in Northville”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a fabulous whitefish and a lovely salad. They had a varied wine list to choose from. And since we are sinners, we had the cream puffs for dessert--very enjoyable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CorinneKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simple Pleasures Dining”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our first visit - this despite some low ratings and comments I read. We were seated in the front dining area by the circular windows, so we didn't notice any objectionable noise, Our server was Kath. She was exceptionally courteous, attentive, and knowledgeable. She made us feel right 'at-home'. Our lunch orders were delicious and satisfying. We had the Salmon Burger (well-done for me) and Crispy Chicken sandwich. Even tried the Sweet Potato fries (very good). We normally don't have dessert, but based on our meal and her service, we did try the Apple/Pear Cobbler. It was nicely warmed with a scoop of ice cream on the side. It was perfect and not too much. Based on our experience, we would recommend eating here, and will definitely come back again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PapaDaddyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
1 review
“Nice place for a date night”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Food was good, I had the buffalo chicken pizza my wife had the meatloaf. We went for our anniversary, I thought it was going to be a bit fancier then it was.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was very disappointed in the Garage. I had heard so many people talking about it and wanted to check it out. I had the fish and it was not that great. We got to the restaurant early and we realized after more dinner guests arrived that we never got fresh bread like everyone else, which was disappointing. The other problem was that the waiter took a long time to come back and check in, even though the restaurant was pretty empty. We had two drinks and a full meal and it was a bit too expensive for the quality and type of food. I would never go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garage Grill & Fuel Bar also viewed

 

Been to Garage Grill & Fuel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing