We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good and reasonable, but very noisy”

Garage Grill & Fuel Bar
Ranked #9 of 88 Restaurants in Northville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Garage... is a dining experience on Main Street at the corner of Wing Street in historic downtown Northville, Michigan. The menu is as classic as the circa 1940 service station that is home to Garage.Respectful of the past and stylish by today's trends, the restaurant, the bar and outdoor cafe are visually exciting with great views of the town. A separate "To Go" counter has been created for easy access.An important feature of Garage is the Banquet Room, an 80 seat private room which has a view of an impeccably restored 1930 Ford Model A car that creates part of the overall banquet experience.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Food good and reasonable, but very noisy”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

They have really done a nice job with this building, converting it from its prior use. Landscaping and outdoor seating also very nicely done. The menu had a good variety of choices and the food was very good. I had the pork tenderloin and it was delicious. The serving size was also very good. The only drawback was the noise and wow was it noisy!!!! Next time I think it will go for an outdoor table and hope for less noise.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank intrepidtraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    69
    36
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Garage is decorated down to the smallest detail and it makes it an enjoyable experience. In the warm weather they opened up the big glass garage doors and let the fresh air in! I've eaten here 3 times. Each time I have had a great meal. My favorite is their crispy chicken sandwich. It is so yummy and comes with sweet potato fries. The calamari appetizer is very good and I am picky about calamari. My friends have enjoyed the fish tacos as well. Will definitely keep going back! Great asset to Northville!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Traveller0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Don't plan on having dinner as a family here. We went with our two children who are well traveled and have eaten in numerous restaurants far nicer than the garage. Upon entering the hostess gave us a disapproving look and said I am sorry we just sat our last table right before you. She then told us the wait was over an hour and we should try some other place in town. Please keep in mind there were numerous open tables, and a table of four (same as ours) was seated with no reservations as we walked out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
“Great location, good food”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This converted gas station was the perfect environment for a wonderful dinner with family. The original garage doors were opened to give an outside feel on a beautiful spring evening. The salads were fresh and the meals were delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“What an attitude!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

They may be the new kid on the block, but with this attitude, they won't get old. No reserves under 6 people. Can't attest to the food--tho have heard others opinions--because we've not been able to get in! Popular with the younger set, but above that.........so-so.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garage Grill & Fuel Bar also viewed

 

Been to Garage Grill & Fuel Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing