We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garage--great place for bbq.”

The Garage Bar and Grill
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Northport
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: It's new this summer. Owner used to own The Eat Spot in the same city. They are on Facebook.
Restaurant details
Description: It's new this summer. Owner used to own The Eat Spot in the same city. They are on Facebook.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Garage--great place for bbq.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had some great ribs at this place yesterday. The sauce on them has bit of a bite--just the way I like them. Onion rings are good. The local soda--Northwoods--is served here and can't be beat. Service is good. I had the pulled pork sandwich on another visit and it reminded me of being back in Memphis. Fun place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank figgieMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    41
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Chicken, chicken and more chicken!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have had some killer whitefish here -- and I've seen people come in to carry out a dozen BBQ chickens to take home to serve a crowd! (Order in advance....) GREAT FOOD, fun atmosphere, all Northport!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BaxterBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BBQ lovers!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Garage in downtown Northport has excellent bbq pulled pork!
Great service and cold beer! You also can walk if you live in Northport which is nice on a beautiful evening.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Barbeque in Leelanau County”
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

You can't go wrong with the pulled pork sandwich. You will feel like you are at a Pig Pickin. The Ribs are as good as any Barbeque I have been to in the South. My favorite sides are the roasted sweet potatoes and coleslaw. Bruce, the owner and manager, does a great job. The Garage is a welcome addition to the Town of Northport.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buckeyefever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yellow springs
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food, great atmophere ...very cool.”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

the first time we went with the family, every one was quite satisfied. burgers, ribs, pulled pork all great. we were there in the fall and they had an open fire outside and "smore kits"... how cool! since that first time, we have consistantly been satisfied and been treated as part of the usual gang. we love it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank erdemaoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garage Bar and Grill also viewed

Northport, Leelanau County
Northport, Leelanau County
 
Northport, Leelanau County
Northport, Leelanau County
 

Been to The Garage Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing