We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money or jeapordize your health!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zellar's Village Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Eben Junction
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money or jeapordize your health!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I don't even know where to start. We stayed in the old building, and let me tell you, it should be shut down! The floors in the hallway are rotting, to the point you never knew if you were going to fall through or not. The whole buiding reaked of cigarette smoke. Our room, as well as some others we seen, contained black mold. The were several holes in the walls, a huge crack in the window, and the toilet was on a slant due to the rotting floor. Unfortunately, every place in town was booked so we were stuck there. Now I know why they were the only place with vacancies! We were at least excited that they had a pool and hot tob. Well, not so much. Me and my 3 kids ended up with chemical burns from the hot tub/pool! Tried talking to management about everything, with no luck. If the health department walked in there, they would be shut down in a heartbeat. I honestly have never seen anything so disgusting! Like I said, we were in the "old part", but from what I heard from others, the new buiding was pretty darn bad as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    6
    16
    18
See reviews for
26
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munising, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Let me put it this way, my 8 yr old said she never wants to go back there! The rooms are dirty, the pool is ok, but the hot tub looks like people urinated in it. The old part of the building connected to the restaurant smells of cigarette smoke and I am not sure what else but it made me gag as I walked to the restaurant. The doors in the old building have large gaps. The newer part needs either new carpet or the carpet cleaned. The walls need to be patched and painted and the beds need to be replaced. The front desk people were nice as long as you could find them.

Room Tip: Go to another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie_N23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went to the lounge after a good long days worth of riding. Went to use the bathroom only to find the floor flooded and turd right in the middle of the floor.!!! NO JOKE.!!!!! This was after I had dinner there. Stayed for a few drinks and 2 hours later, it was still there!!!!!!! Where's the health department when you need them!!!!!!

Just wonder how they maintain the rest of the place and the food area!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, WI
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel at least three weekends per year for four years running. I stayed at several others around town and now stay here exclusively. I always enjoy the hospitality and appreciate the reasonable rates. There aren't many options of this caliber in Newberry...only two others that I can think of. One is always terribly overpriced and the other is inconveniently located and often closed when I come up in mid-May. Zellar's has a good mix of cost vs convenience vs comfort.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first. Each has different amenities such as refrigerator or microwave or furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel is not what we expected for the price. The room was dingy and old. The toilet seat looked like it had been around forever....it was stained and discolored. The lighting was very dim....probably so you couldn't see how dirty it truly was. There were several smashed bugs on the walls. We were very disappointed with the whole situation. I guess this would be okay for hunters or fishermen, but we like a very clean room and it was not up to our standards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank h p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed one night at Zellar's. It was a comfortable and clean motel. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and had no complaints. This motel is acceptable if you are looking for a clean, quiet place to stay and aren't looking for any frills.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Nice folks, good food and service. Ate at the restaurant. Did not stay in the motel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
17.3 mi away
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
#1 of 2 in Naubinway
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
183 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Zellar's Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zellar's Village Inn

Property: Zellar's Village Inn
Address: 7552 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868 (Formerly Super 8 Newberry)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Zellar's Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Zellar's Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing