We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Gateway Motel

Gateway Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gateway Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We chose this hotel because it's pet friendly and had great reviews and we weren't disappointed! Exceptionally clean and very quaint with it's knotty pine paneling, windows that actually open and a bench in front of each room so you can sit outside and visit with your neighbors. Comfortable and quiet, we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleemich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were in a jam and saw the good reviews, so we stopped in to rent a room. First, the room smelled pretty bad, but we figured we could hack it since it was just a night. When going out to eat that night, we tapped the bumper of a car in the parking lot, causing some very minor damage. We let the owners know about it, since that's the right thing to do. Turns out it was the owner's car. He starts having a conniption about it, even though my insurance is going to pay the whole thing. Then he tells us we have to leave and he won't be giving us our money back.

Stay away from this property and its unstable owners. Life is too short for this kind of craziness.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GoSt8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place rocks just like the other reviews stated- As a self-professed part-time diva I was THRILLED at the clealiness and quiet The owners are FANTASTIC! Ladies, the bathroo is all new, tiled, clean wonderful Will stay again when we pass through town

Room Tip: they do offer pet friendly rooms but keep them seperate from the others, they will truly accomodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

You should make a point to stay here. The owners were super friendly and down to earth. Rooms are warm and comfortable. The place is more like a B&B, minus breakfast, than a motel. We only wish we had stayed longer.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VegasTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here one night on our journey through the Michigan UP with our two small dogs. The rooms are very clean, the rate is the best value around, and the owners are SUPER kind and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again when traveling through the area. There is also a great bar one block off of the main street in town (1 mile away) called Johnny's Bar - we had the best burger we've ever had there; the bun was homemade and sooo unique; shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Nice little mom and pop motel. Pleasant owners, clean and quiet room (with wi-fi), comfortable bed. My only observation is that the almost new shower stall is not for the claustrophobic. If I ever found myself in the UP again I'd go out of my way to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdirondackBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

You can stay a few other places for much more but this is a excellent value. Quaint rooms and VERY clean which is a must for the wife (and me). Owners stepped out for a few minutes when we arrived, left a note for us that the key was in the door! Don't be put off by the pic's, many places in the UP are older and quaint. Many nice touches in the rooms and personal service.

Room Tip: Our family members had 3 other rooms and the are all slightly different but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank whitewolf505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
3.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
17.6 mi away
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
#1 of 2 in Naubinway
59 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
69 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel

Address: 7885 State Highway M-123, South Newberry Avenue, Newberry, MI 49868
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing