We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Star Hotel Newberry MI”
Review of Evening Star Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Evening Star Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Nice and clean!! My wife and I stayed 7/30/12 and were very happy!! Basic and simple..but spotless!! No frills but for $50 a night...we couldn't ask for a cleaner room at any price. They do it right. For a simple, clean room...this is the spot !!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank happy2bhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Evening Star Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 99 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

After a long drive, we crashed here. It was very basic and affordable. I didn't feel very secure. A few single guys driving contractor trucks were staying in other rooms. If my hubby were along on this trip, I might have felt more confident about staying here, but had an uneasy feeling about the area. The economy must have hit Newberry hard. There are a number of vacant stores. There's a convenience store at the gas station across the street and a drug store up the road. We walked there but were the only people out on foot after 6pm.

The beds were fine, the bathroom was a tight squeeze. Run the water for a minute before getting in. It started out rust colored and ran to clear after a bit. The walls of the shower aren't molded. The red color in the grout is probably rust. (or perhaps the same stuff that's in the Tahquamenon river?)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosielovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Agree with other reviewers. Our room was small, had the bare minimum furnishings, and no amenities. But it was clean and had wi-fi. Can't be beat for the price if you just need a decent place for 1 night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ztaaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had stopped at 2 other motels before choosing this one. The other motels in town wanted around $70-110 for the night. This one was $50, neat and tidy with a moderately comfortable bed. The furnishings and fixtures were in good repair. It did not come with breakfast but considering the difference in price, we gladly forfeited the food. We stayed in the main building. I did not hear anyone until morning and then only murmurs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank GirlonthegoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Room was clean and bathroom was very nice. Room was small and in good condition and great value for the price. I stayed in the Park-A-Way Motel which is joined with the Evening Star. They are side by side and share the same office/owner. They also allow pets.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank buoywatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I plus our 1 month old son stayed here for two nights in late October. The rooms and bathrooms are VERY clean. The owner was very nice and even gave my husband the run down of the other hotels in the area telling us which ones would be nicer (but cost more). We decided to stay there because of price and were VERY pleased. Our stay was great and we plan on staying here again in the future.
The only "cons" are ( if they could be called cons) the rooms are very basic and small. We did manage to fit our pack n' play in just fine. It definitely has no frills such as shampoo or continental breakfast. In the main building you can hear through the room doors, but it isn't much different then many other hotels.
Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mandacost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. Very quiet, and quaint. Rooms are basic, clean, and comfortable. Internet access is available, and the pool was clean and not over-crowded. I would highly recommend The Evening Star to anyone who is looking for an affordable, comfy place to stay while in Newberry.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AHummergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
2.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
17.2 mi away
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
#1 of 2 in Naubinway
55 reviews
30.5 mi away
Chapel Hill Motel
Chapel Hill Motel
#1 of 1 in Moran
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evening Star Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evening Star Motel

Address: 7511 State Highway M-123, Newberry, MI 49868
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range: $55 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing