We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Over priced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Pakenham ON
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel is over priced given the facilities and services provided. The rooms were nothing special and the pool / spa were just OK. The continental breakfast was pathetic, we took a look at it and left. The dining choices nearby is limited, so for any variety one would have to go elsewhere. It would be OK if it was 20% less.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
29
18
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for five days while in the U P of Michigan, and even though it takes a while to get anywhere in the U P, because it's so dense with wild land, this was a convenient location. The only caveats to keep in mind are: there are very few King rooms and they fill up quickly. This is nice; however, because no families are allowed in the King rooms and they're in the far section of the hotel - nice and quiet. There are no balconies, so if someone smokes, you have to go outside. The place is pretty old, but they keep it clean. The room coffee is pretty bad, though. :) For the money, it's a pretty good value - they have an indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. There is a good restaurant right next door for lunch or dinner, and down the road you can get more delicious food and sundries. All in all worth it for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marnster321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Pay attention to the criticisms in the other reviews of this hotel. They are accurate. The worst part of this hotel are the beds. I can't remember the last time I slept in a bed this uncomfortable in a hotel. The furnishings and linens are very low quality. The breakfast bar is a joke. Powdered creamer for the coffee?? Come on, even my dentist does better than that. No orange juice, not even any milk for the cereal. They aren't even trying. On the plus side, it was relatively clean and the hotel is easy to find. This hotel is definitely not worth the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaconTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We paid $87 for the night including all taxes and I found the hotel to be pretty decent. The only issue I saw was with the bed sheets and the blankets. The blankets looked faded and the beds were way too stiff. For a night's stay, I would recomment this hotel, not if some one plans to stay for a longer period.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingchacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Loved our stay! Newberry has very little in the way of hotels/motels and we really appreciate the accommodations made available to us! Comfortable-firm beds, very clean rooms, and a very nice pool/hot tub. It's a family run business, so minimal but very friendly staff. Very small breakfast options, but again, its very well priced for accommodations offered, and there are several small diners in town that offer some delicious alternatives. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spooky4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Check in was smooth, the room was not only clean, but spotless! The staff was friendly and very helpful. There was a hugh back yard to walk our dog, which was great to get some exercise after site seeing in the car all day. Thanks Irene for you helpful and great attitude.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were looking for a cheaper place to stay than the Comfort Inn in Newberry where we usually stay as we literally only sleep there and spend the rest of the weekend with family at a cottage (without enough beds!). This place was a significant savings. But, as the saying goes, you get what you pay for! Complementary breakfast was cereal, toast, juice and a few cinnamon rolls that were cut in half. No tables to eat breakfast on-had to carry breakfast back to the room. Rooms clean. Mattresses on the firm side. Quiet. Nice pool (Comfort Inn doesn't have one). Staff friendly. Nothing fancy and it served our purpose just fine.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank slorettao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
3.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
14.6 mi away
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
#1 of 3 in Naubinway
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
Address: 12956 State Route M-28, Newberry, MI 49868
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing