We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - Over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence
JACKSON
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overpriced - Over rated”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel is overpriced for the quality of your stay here, but it's because of the area that it is in that you have to pay a higher rate. The WIFI was practically non-existent and when we inquired about it the person at the front desk told us it was because "they were booked and that there were many people trying to use it with multiple devices at once". Once we did get connected it was so slow it was impossible to even check email and then it would disconnect within a few minutes. The possible 18 channels you could watch on the TV were fuzzy and not working at all either. The room was clean, however it had overwhelming air freshener odor. We had to turn on the air conditioner in October in order to get most of the scent out so I could breathe. (I have asthma). Other reviews I had read raved about the breakfast here however, I'm not sure where those were coming from. The breakfast we had was one of the worst at a Comfort Inn we had experienced. The sausage was rubbery, the eggs were slimy disks and there wasn't even a microwave in the breakfast area to warm up anything. We usually only stay at Choice Hotels but we will definitely not be returning to this Choice Hotel on our next visit to the UP next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Sorry about the slow response, my computer has been in the shop. The connection problem with the internet is now resolved. There is a password required now and this should eliminate some of the drain on our system. In regards to the air freshener odors we are sorry they were so strong. We do offer an air machine for the room which does help immensely and would recommend asking for one any time you stay at any motel. Most places will have them available.
We are sorry you had a terrible breakfast and would have been willing to compensate you in some way had you spoken up at the time. Please don't hesitate to mention any problems you have at the time of your stay so we may have an opportunity to make it right for you. We are sorry you will not be returning to us but there are other nice places in the area and we hope you will try one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    64
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
58
64
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grawn, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

While the price may have seemed more than we wanted to pay, we have nothing bad to say about the stay here. The room was comfortable, well-decorated and spotless. The shower was really awesome. We got a king room on the first floor that came equipped with a refrigerator and microwave. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast had a lot of choices and nice surprises. I loved the overall condition and decor of the hotel. We found in the end it was worth the price and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The king room is worth a little extra price for the extra amenities that come with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reba B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and your stay with us. We hope your overall visit to the area was a pleasant surprise as well. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Was nice staying here while visiting an ill relative, the room was comfortable, somewhat overpriced for the area would have stayed a second night but was not willing to pay more for a Sunday stay then a Saturday. Staff was nice, would be nice to have small fridge in the rooms. Various restaurants withing walking distance is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grneyes131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We hope everything turned out ok for your ill relative. Not sure what you meant by paying more for a Sunday night as our rates are the same every day of the week. When making your reservation for your next stay with us feel free to request a room with the amenities you require. While we may not be able to accommodate all of them we will do our best to make you as comfortable as possible. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Everything at this place was above average except for a couple of things.
One - there was a pesky fly in our room which was quite annoying.
Two - the microwave made a noise that eventually drove you nuts. I unplugged it finally.
So I 'dinged' the sleep quality.
Hot tub was great!! Just the right temperature....
Breakfast was hot and the offerings were more than adequate.

Room Tip: Stay where you don't have an ice machine nearby or an exit door. If possible, avoid rooms where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urkidding24689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are sorry to hear you had a problem with that pesky fly. I hope the fly swatter helped. Glad to hear the breakfast was satisfying. The next time you visit mention the problem with the refrigerator and we will try to find you a quieter room. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

When we were looking for a hotel/motel in the UP, it seemed that there was not a big choice in the Newberry area. We chose Comfort Inn because it is a respected chain but did not expect anything special. While the hotel does seem over-priced for the area, it does give value for your money. It was a clean, nicely decorated hotel that is typical of Comfort Inns. But this one has charm too. Paintings and decor reflect the fact that Newberry is "the moose capital of Michigan."
The room was clean, furnishings and beds were in good repair, and we enjoyed a relaxing evening and refreshing night's sleep.

It is on the highway so that's very convenient. Also, it's right across from a couple of gas stations and restaurants/bars, so again...convenient. There was plenty of parking available onsite.
During check in, when I asked about whether our room had a fridge, the friendly woman at Reception said it did not but she would change our room to one that did. The room also had a microwave. The TV reception was not the best but we watched a movie on HBO anyway. WiFi worked well.
Breakfast was included and they offered boiled eggs, omelettes, sausage patties, waffles, and the usual fare. We left satisfied. When the dining room became rather full, a staff member opened a sliding panel to offer more seating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomDtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the charm we try to present. We want people to feel comfortable here. Not stiff and cold. The breakfast is meant to be filling and satisfying. After all we can't send you on your way on an empty stomach. We hope to have you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay here just the other night - The folks there made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and well appointed and the breakfast the next morning was really appreciated. My daughter left her favorite shirt in the room and we didn't realize until a day or so later. I called and the folks there sent it back to us.\very promptly. Great service, wonderful Northern hospitality all in all great experience! Thank you Comfort Inn Newberry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are glad to hear you had a great stay and are very happy your daughter got her favorite shirt back. We look forward to seeing you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

First, I am impressed that the Guest Relations Manager pays attention and responds to Trip Advisor reviews. I look for that when deciding where to stay. There are limited options for motels on the Upper Peninsula and we were pleased with this one. The front desk staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. The motel should consider keeping the breakfast area open with coffee, tea and possibly light snacks available throughout the day. We expect to return to the UP every year to visit friends and attend a charity event in Gould City, and we will certainly consider the Comfort Inn in Newberry again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifKidRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen D, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for reading the reviews as well as the responses. They do help us to see where we can improve so we can make your futures stays even better. Thank you also for taking the time to add your own comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
14.8 mi away
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
#1 of 2 in Naubinway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
2.5 mi away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 13954 State Highway M28, Newberry, MI 49868-7971 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Comfort Inn. Now Quality Inn & Suites with the same friendly owners. Come in and check out our renovations. Stay with us and enjoy a deluxe breakfast and a relaxing soak in our large hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Newberry
Newberry Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing