We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most fun I've had in a while”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halfway Lake Cottages
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Most fun I've had in a while”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Some friends invited me to join them on a snowmobile trip to the UP and I'm glad I went. The cabins were as neat and clean as other reviewers have noted and they are what they are supoosed to be- a nice, clean place to sleep while you enjoy the outdoors. We rented sleds from Picklemans and mine was one that was staged at the resort while the others rented theirs from Pickleman's place in town.
Having the sled there at the resort meant that all I had to do was drive to the resort, ride for a couple of days and leave the sled where I found it. How much easier could it be? We rode about 400 miles in 2 days, saw some beautiful scenery and had a blast.
Josh, Nicole and Co. have a really good grasp on customer service and run a nice operation. I would highly recommend the resort no matter the seaon as there is plenty to do regardless of the season.
We are already in for next year!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for posting your review. We are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness and you found our onsite sled rental convenient. We are even more happy to hear that your vacation was the most fun you have had in a while and you are willing to recommend us to your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    44
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
94
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Josh and Nicole exceeded my expectations again...Clean and comfortable rooms, stove, toaster, microwave, coffee maker, full size fridge and LOTS of snow...who could ask for more! Parking areas plowed. Laid back and accomodating.

Room Tip: Cabin 6 accomodates 6+, 2 bunk beds with a queen in each room. Newly built screen enclosed porch.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Tony-
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found it to the resort clean, laid back, and accommodating- something we strive for. I hope you can find time to make it back UP before winter is over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We needed a place to stay in the Newberry area for one night and the reviews on Tripadvisor convinced us this was the place. It was perfect. Very, very clean. I loved how the towels and the sheets had a nice clean fragrance. The set up is very nice, wish we could have stayed longer. If/When we do make a return visit, I would bring a small table for added counter space in the kitchen (it is a bit limited) and some type of tv tray/small table to serve as a nightstand in the bedroom. Other than that- could not ask for much more. And just FYI- we thought the bed was fine- not to hard/soft. For the price- it is a fantastic place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeniorTraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for providing such a great review. We are happy to hear that we met your expectations and you wished you were able to stay longer. We look forward to accommodating you for your next stay. Hopefully you will be able to relax and enjoy a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We really love staying here at Halfway Lake Resort. We come at least four times a year to enjoy what each season has to offer! I'm always so pleased with how absolutely immaculate the cabins are kept, and so well maintained. They're nicely furnished and have a well equiped kitchen. The cabins are very spacious with plenty of room for two couples, or a family. Very cozy and comfortable to spend time just relaxing in a beautiful setting, or this is the perfect location for any kind of adventure in the U.P. This family owned Resort is always so welcoming and we always look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeeptime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are flattered that you enjoy Halfway Lake Resort four times a year. We are looking forward to having you for many more relaxing vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Mi
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The cabins were built in the late 90's and have been well maintained. Our cabin appeared to have been freshly painted with newer, clean carpet. This resort is as nice as everyone claims. HOWEVER, I was not prepared for NO DRESSERS or SHELVES in the bedroom. There is a peg hanger on each bedroom wall but no where to put folded clothing, your cell phone, eye glasses, etc. We had unit 4 with 2 bedrooms and each bedroom had a double bed and a twin and we used the twin bed to store things we'd normally put in drawers or on shelves. The faucet water tasted very good. Most of the cabins overlook the private lake.

The lake water is very clean. We enjoyed fishing, swimming and kayaking (very good life jackets provided). The resort is quiet and peaceful with very attractive landscaping with lots of gorgeous flowers. The owners own most of the lake and surrounding property so it is very private.

We ate twice at Pine Stump http://www.pine-stump.com/menu.html which has a very limited menu. We had pizza one night (delicious!!!!) and hamburgers another (very good). We also ate at Timber Charlies and that was good too.

I can recommend Halfway Lake Resort as a comfortable, clean and enjoyable place to stay.

Room Tip: you will need to live out of a suitcase due to lack of dressers and shelves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikingkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to write a review. We are thrilled that you will recommend Halfway Lake Resort as a comfortable, clean and enjoyable place to stay. We are constantly aiming to make improvements. Removing the luggage racks and adding dressers to the bedrooms is something we are hoping to accomplish in the near future. Stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MI
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Loved this place! I found it on here and went with it. Location was a bit hard to find at first but we didn't have our GPS. We stayed for the Labor Day weekend and enjoyed every moment of it. We're already planning on returning next year.

Everything you could ever want in a relaxing stay is here. We fished, kayaked, canoed, used the firepit for smores and hobo pies, took a few dips in the hot tub. The amenities were endless, the kitchen and bath were adequately stocked except for steak knives. Our kids had the best time without having to be entertained all the time and that's the best gift for parents that want family time without it being over the top busy. The kids were happiest on the lake or on the dock with their fishing poles.

You have access to their boats, the docks on the gorgeous lake, the fire pit, and the hot tub. There are also grills and picnic tables scattered around to be used if you'd like. You just don't find that anywhere anymore.

We went to the falls, Grand Marais, The Wildlife Reserve. It's a great central location for whatever you have on your itinerary, if you even have one.

There are only two negatives. One is the beds...they really are like concrete. When we return next year we'll be bringing our mattress topper with us. The second was there was a bit of a cleanliness problem. We had unit number 2 and friends had unit number 3. We both had issues with food, crumbs, clothing, dirty tissues, and even medication that was found under the sofa cushions. I was checking to see if they were sleeper sofas (because the bed was so hard) and was met with a mess. There was also old food next to the sofa along the wall under the window so it made me wonder how clean the rest of the cabin really was. I also found old food and water bottles under one of the beds when I was clearing the cabin for check out to make sure my kids didn't leave anything behind. If I had a toddler it would've been an issue but my kids are older and tend to ignore anything on the floor out of fear they may have to clean it up so I was the only one bothered by it.

None of this will keep us from returning, I wasn't expecting the Ritz, I was expecting an up north cabin and that's exactly what I we got. It was a great experience that my family will remember for years. We really can't wait to return. The good buries the bad in my opinion.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 through 6 face the lake, 5 and 6 have back screened in porches. Units 2 and 3 share a combi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickAndKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Owner at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for your well thought out and honest feedback. We are thrilled that you had the best family experience and have made plans to return next Labor Day. We take pride in our cleanliness and we are disappointed to hear of the atypical issues that you encountered. We want to apologize and assure you that we have addressed these matters with our cleaning staff.

We look forward to seeing you next year and thank you for giving us another opportunity to demonstrate to you our standards of cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Although we could only stay one night we took full advantage of the lake. Kids loved to take the canoes out and the lake was so calm and quiet!!! Cabin was quaint and had everything we needed! Owners are young with young kids and very nice! The Yooper speak was awesome :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tekkshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martindale09, Manager at Halfway Lake Cottages, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found time to relax and enjoy the lake. We hope that the rest of your vacation was wonderful and that you will return to stay us again. Eh? :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newberry hotels
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
12.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
10.1 mi away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halfway Lake Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway Lake Cottages

Property: Halfway Lake Cottages
Address: 16878 County Road 505, Newberry, MI 49868-7643
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned resort in the heart of the great waters of Michigan's Eastern Upper Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing