We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Quiet, Simple and Beautiful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Newberry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Halfway Lake Cottages
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here and we are looking forward to the time that we can return with our Grand Children.

Place was very clean, quiet and very relaxing.

Room Tip: If driving in from Newberry, go past the first turn off for 505 and wait until you see the sign for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 201 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2011

Came north from South Carolina to see the fall colors. Was not disappointed. A small, friendly, well maintained cabin resort on a pretty private lake. Has Sat TV, hot tub, Wi-Fi, etc, so not as isolated as its location may imply. Host supplies towels and other sundry items. Surrounded by hundreds of square miles of national and state forests open to the public. Will be shifting north next fall from our usual LP cabin to Halfway Lake in the UP. Northern pike fishing and grouse hunting appear to be good - saw grouse even along the paved highways. Plenty to see on the two nearby Great Lake coasts and in Newberry - Oswald's Bear Ranch is a mile away. Would recommend it to families and to hunters and fishermen. Owners are pleasant and very helpful. Back in 2012 for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chermol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Myself and two grandkids had a unique and a "hands on " adventure in the UP of Mich this past summer. We stayed a week at the resort and wished we could have stayed more. My 12 yro and 8 yro couldn't wait to experience first hand kayaking and canoeing across the lake ,all the safety equip and boats were inc. Even though they had never tried this "new" sport they soon became quite good, I even went canoeing with grandaughter. Quiet and nature abound everywhere. With proper protection worn we had no issues with insects. Numerous humming birds hang out here. We went everywhere seeing the bears and I even was blessed to see a female moose crossing the road back to the resort , while driving back from "da so st marie". Had I been quick enough I'd be posting that picture. This was a fine place for my kids to be kids !
We were there in July a perfect time to be there...so exhausted from all the places we went
sleep came easy. It was a very affordable place to enjoy and still have money for all the attractions we went too....
Staying between the two Great Lakes enabled us to take different roads back nightly,seeing new scenry each trip. Many food choices were also avaiable. cook outs or at restaurants around places visited. The kids were also able to go horseback riding and even I got to ride !
The family operating the place was extremely helpful as too the lady ,she was an asset as to the many attractions located close by ,even offering short cuts to other attractions.
Linens and bedding supplies were furnished and when you needed more a simple walk to the "office" which by the way was open 24 x 7 was conviewnt too.
I guess if you don't go on yearly or any vaccations you could find fault with small simple things ..that aren't convient like at your house....
The weather was much cooler than the 3 didget numbers back at home....Warm during the day and cooler at night.And 2 box fans were provided,although some nights none were needed
I am sure we'll be back next year !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KC_Artist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This was our first trip to Halfway Lake Resort, and we will definately be back. Loved the beautiful lake, the free access to the boats, the pier to fish from. The cabins were a good size and very clean.

This is a great place to stay if you want a "home base" to drive from for day trips to places like Taquamenon Falls, Whitefish Point, Munising, Grand Marais and even Mackinac Island. Once you find the small road it's located on, it's not hard to find. The first access to CR (county road) 505 is almost exactly 1 mile north of Oswald's Bear Ranch. If you miss that entrance, there is a big sign for the resort further up on 407.

Note: the cabins are up on a hill, overlooking the lake. I didn't realize that until I got there, and it wasn't a big deal, but to get to the pier and boats, you do have to walk down the hill.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beermandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

My family stayed here in July for a few days and I can't say enough nice things about it. The young family that runs it is very nice. They are helpful, but never intrusive. There is no air conditioning in the cabins, but you won't need it. It was cool when the rest of the state was blazing hot. She also had box fans for us if we needed them. You can use the canoes and rowboat for free. We paddled around the lake, which is a nice size. We spotted a bald eagle and followed it around. They have a nice firepit and grills you can use. They did have free wireless access. (But no Verizon access, alas, in the UP). The cabin was very clean and we had everything that we needed. We had a two bedroom cabin and it was a nice size for us. They had satelite tv, but pretty limited choices. It was really a great place to stay and I highly recommend it for young families. You will need bug spray for the outdoors. There were no bugs in the cabin.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

The Halfway Lake Resort is a place where you can really get away from the hustle and bustle of civilization. It is in the middle of nowhere and a little challenging to find. But once you're there, you will see a magnificent lake and several boats waiting for you. The cabins are not elegant, but they are clean and can accommodate as many as eight. It is a great place for a family reunion or just a weekend getaway. The staff is friendly and not overbearing. You can get supplies and groceries in nearby Newberry. All in all, a fine example of the American outdoors, in a relaxing setting.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank Anemoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Booked for our family of 2 small kids. Got a cottage with 4 beds. Was very pleased with how clean the cottage and grounds were kept. Several canoes and rowboats with life jackets available. Dishsoap sheets and towels included. Most places I researched did not include. Close by so many up attractions. East 1 hour+ drive to soo locks, mackinaw, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravel4435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
12.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
22.3 mi away
Hilltop cabins
Hilltop cabins
#1 of 3 in Grand Marais
114 reviews
12.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Newberry
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
70 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Halfway Lake Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halfway Lake Cottages

Address: 16878 County Road 505, Newberry, MI 49868-7643
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newberry
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned resort in the heart of the great waters of Michigan's Eastern Upper Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing