We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosie's

Rosie's
Ranked #20 of 47 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over-rated”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Heard great things about Rosie's but we had a subpar experience. Chicken soup was not hot and all noodles, no chicken or vegetables. Salad dressing was all oil, no vinegar. Maybe we ordered the wrong things. Go to David's delicatessen instead. Much better food for same amount of money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frocomou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    49
    35
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nakskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
446 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of the dishes was a very delicious salad with fresh ingredients. The dressing came separately so you could have as much or little as you liked. German bratwurst sausages were great too, accompanied by mashed potatoes and red cabbage. A very nice choise at a time when I was slowly getting fed up with ordinary fast food.
The service was kind and efficient and the entertainment impressive. They had a heavy rain- and thunderstorm going on outside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant in New Buffalo”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Breakfast at Rosie's is a perfect way to start your day when visiting the New Buffalo/Union Pier lakeside towns in Southwest Michigan. Rosie's offers delicious traditional breakfasts that arm you well for a day at the beach in the summer or a nice fall day hiking parks in the area. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and everyone is very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cincytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
581 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“If it is called "Rosies", stop and eat there!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

On this next-to-last day of our vacation we left Benton Harbor about 10:30. Our first stop was about 30 miles south in the lakefront town of New Buffalo. A former classmate recommended an eatery there called Rosie’s. Thank you, Nita, it was a good tip. We stopped there about 11:00 for a late breakfast / early lunch. Joan had lunch (pork loin) and I had breakfast (Spanish omelette). The place is popular because the food is good. We did have to wait for a table but our wait was less than ten minutes.

I don’t know how many restaurants there are in Michigan called “Rosies” but we have eaten at two of them on this trip. Based on our experience, my advice to you is this: If it is called “Rosies”, stop and eat there! This place was called “Rosie’s Restaurant” and was perhaps a slightly more refined than Rosie’s Diner in Escanaba. But I’d stop at either one of them again - in a heartbeat.

With tax and tip: 25 dollars.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joan&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We wanted a good breakfast diner and didn't want to pay $10-12 per plate that was very common in New Buffalo. Rosie's had good service and good breakfast food for a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosie's also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Rosie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing