We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to really relax!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sans-Souci Euro Inn and Cottages
Ranked #4 of 7 New Buffalo B&B and Inns
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place to really relax!”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We usually stay in New Buffalo at the Marina Grand but this weekend we wanted to try someplace different. This place is very relaxing and quiet. We actually heard birds, lol! There is a deck overlooking a bog and it was great to sit in the sun and watch baby ducks, many birds...even woodpeckers and hummingbirds (i was thrilled, never see them in Chicago!), raccoons and turtles. The breakfast was a surprise! Most B&B's are simple with maybe 2 courses in the serving but here we had a little bit of everything and then some with a VERY nice presentation and served at your own requested time to your room.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BunnieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2008

The Room (we were in the Green Heron Suite) reminded me of a small European cottage with a warm, comfortable living area, a large wood-burning fireplace (fully stocked with wood) and a huge picture window facing the beautiful autumn trees (it was extremely private). The bedroom and bathroom were large enough and the entire suite was very clean.
Each morning we were welcomed with a delicious breakfast brought to our room- fresh squeezed orange juice, homemade-still warm -blueberry cofee cake, Italian omelette with fresh herbs and mozzarella, cheese board, bagels or muffins for toasting (the room has a small kitchen area)...
The grounds are also lovely, with a walking path and private lake.
I recommend Sans Souci without hesitation!
The New Buffalo/Union Pier area is also fun and picturesque, with wineries, antique shops and lovely beaches.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneG5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2008

We visited Sans Souci in Feb of 08. It was great. We arrived late at night and stayed in the Kingfisher Suite. It was wonderful to wake up to a big snowy picuture window that looked out over a lake! My 5 year old was fascinated by all the birds feeding at the bird feeders. Our breakfast arrived right on time, and it included something for all of us - delicious! We didn't get to use the gigantic whirlpool tub in the room (my 5 year old was disappointed) but we'll be back to make sure we do! The Kingfisher Suite is very romantic - I wish I'd known about it for our honeymoon!

  • Liked — The room was spacious, our late check in was accommodated in a most friendly manner.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank passingthrough99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2008

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place. Angie was wonderful. She really made us feel welcome and part of the family. The accommodations were spotlessly clean and the featherbedding and high quality mattress provided excellent (and much needed) rest. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, coffee, milk, orange juice, home-made muffins, granola and eggs. We stayed at Sans Souci with plans to go antiquing and shopping. But Sans Souci has such beautiful surroundings that we will be back just to lounge on the beach and stroll around the private lake. I will never forget the sight of the early morning mist rising off the lake.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MargieArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2008

We visit Sans Souci regularly. We appreciate the comfortable rooms and the property is unique, well kept and beautiful. My daughter is six and it's where she would prefer to spend every summer weekend. She enjoys swimming iin the lake and hicking the paths. We got a lot of relaxation from our last visit. Great fireplace and wonderful breakfast thanks to Angie, Sue and staff!

  • Liked — The property, the breakfast
  • Disliked — Had to go home
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank einkaufen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

Sans Souci was nothing special, despite a really nice website and high prices. I booked the Sunset cottage for two nights and would not go back for the money. They seemed to be more interested in my cash than in ensuring we had a relaxing time, pushing us to stay an extra night (even after I asked for late checkout and was told it was impossible because someone had reserved the cottage right after us!).

Overall, the property was just okay. But I have stayed at cheaper, nicer, and friendlier places in the area before.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank klee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inn at Union Pier
Inn at Union Pier
#2 of 4 in Union Pier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.7 mi away
Goldberry Woods Bed & Breakfast Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sans-Souci Euro Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sans-Souci Euro Inn and Cottages

Property: Sans-Souci Euro Inn and Cottages
Address: 19265 S Lakeside Rd, New Buffalo, MI 49117-9276
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sans-Souci is a nature retreat offering fifty acres of towering trees, groomed landscapes, and a myriad of wildlife, including beautiful waterfowl right at home on our shimmering, secluded lake. Our gated sanctuary tenders family vacation homes, romantic getaway suites, and lakeside cottages for the fisherman. The interiors, of European character and design with wood-burning fireplaces and whirlpool baths, guarantee a niche for the solitude seeking couple, the wedding party, small business group, or family reunion. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing