We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo(New Buffalo)(Great Value!)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(New Buffalo)
$64
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo(New Buffalo)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Grand Resort(New Buffalo)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Winds Casino Resort(New Buffalo)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveler rating
146
29
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
29
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange roomsaffron roomback porchb bralph laurenprivate porchfour seasonsaqua roomseparate buildinggathering roomyogurtcontinental breakfastmemory foammain downtown streetquick blockswithin easy walking distanceplay games
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 180 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were visting New Buffalo to attend a concert on a Saturday at the Four Winds Casino. We didn't want to stay at the Casino for 2 nights so I found the Lake Country Inn on Tripadviser. After reading the reviews and looking at in online we decided to book it and we were not disappointed. We ended up deciding to book a wine tour but asked it we could park there since our pickup stop was down the street. We on chance decided to ask if our room happened to be available early since we wouldn't be able to check in until later in the evening when our tour returned. The woman there on Friday morning (sorry I don't remember her name) was very friendly and helpful and was able to check us in early, so we were able to just start enjoying our stay. All the rooms we passed by that were open all looked great. I don't think you could go wrong with any of them. We stayed in the Tower Suite and the room was great. It looked even better in person than online. We had a balcony porch which was nice to sit out and relax in and the fireplace was great to have since it was still a little cold out when we stayed. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was really nice. There were a lot of windows in the room which made it always nice and bright. There was a nice continental breaksfast and coffee in the morning. The Inn was also in walking distance of the lake and the places in downtown New Buffalo. I would definately recommend staying here and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenS1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

So glad you chose us for your weekend accommodations in New Buffalo, and we appreciate your review very much.

The Four Winds Casino really has a great live music schedule at both the Event Center and at the Hard Rock Cafe. Plus, if you don't want to drive, you can catch the free shuttle just around the corner.

However, I think the best show in town is put on by Mother Nature down at the beach around sunset. And again, you won't need to drive to get there. The sunsets over the lake can be unforgettable

Really happy you both enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you can get back to Harbor Country soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I had heard good things about New Buffalo and decided to take a long weekend trip for our anniversary. We decided to take the Amtrak from Chicago which was so convenient. The Inn is located about a block and a half away from the train right off the main downtown street.

We arrived on Saturday afternoon and checked in easily. We had the green room which was on the second floor and it had a really comfy lounge chair along with the cozy bed. The accommodations were perfect and the Inn is centrally located for everything you'd like to do in New Buffalo.

We were able to walk to the Four Winds Casino shuttle. We caught a wine tour shuttle in town. We walked to the beach and to all the shops in town. We've stayed in alot of bed and breakfasts and this is clearly the best we've ever been to. We are already trying to find another free weekend to stay here.

One last note, we had an odd incident our first night there. The people in the room nearest to ours got into a loud, drunken fight. We didn't expect something like that to happen in a nice, quiet place like this. It was after hours so we called the owners, who live close by. They answered our call, came right over and quickly escorted the guests out of the Inn. I doubt this will ever happen to anyone else, but it was very reassuring to know the owners are on top of everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you so much for the review. We especially appreciate your great description of a weekend visit as a guest from Chicago coming over to New Buffalo on the Amtrak train. There are now five, outbound trains everyday from Union Station that stop in New Buffalo, and four inbound. Most trains are nonstop and roundtrip tickets are as low as $20.00. Our property is then only a short walk away, and if you arrive early we are happy to hold luggage until check-in. The shuttle to the Four Winds Casino also departs from near the train platform so it is also close. Finally, thanks for the call regarding the noisy couple. We hope you make it back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband, brother and sister-in-law just got back yesterday from New Buffalo and our expectaions were far surpassed with this charming Inn! The accomodations were immaculate and everything was so calm and quiet. Loved the fact there were no alarm clocks in the room so you could forget about time - we were there to relax with no pressure to be anywhere except wine tours!! A big plus is the private sunroom outside of the Inn. It is a very cozy set up and we brought our own wine and beer that we got at Barney's and sat in front of the fireplace in big oversized chairs until we decided to walk across the street to Brewsters for pizza and then onto Casey's for a nightcap. My brother and husband were apprehensive at first that this was going to be a B&B that had communal bathrooms....once they got their and saw we all had our own showers they have decided this is the only spot to stay for our next get-a-way. I could go on and on...but I think I have made my point! We will return.....no question!

Room Tip: The yellow room faces the street and the Blue room faces the back. Both rooms were equally as quiet as the street is not busy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbill1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

We are so pleased that your group enjoyed your visit with us. The Community room is a great space to relax and visit outside our main building. Both the Tower guest room and the Community room have gas fireplaces for some additional atmosphere and warmth now that it is fall. Every room has its own private bathroom with Kohler fixtures, Ralph Lauren towels, and H2O bath products. We really appreciate your review. Hope you all can visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were in New Buffalo for the first time attending a wedding. Several family members booked rooms at this lovely "bed and breakfast". It was a fantastic experience from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Each room has its own decor, and all are tastefully done with lovely large beds and antiques. Beach towels and chairs were provided, there was a nice selection of muffins, fruit, yogurt, coffee and juice every morning, the staff was friendly, it was quiet....we could not have asked for more. Many thanks to Mark and Hope, and to Charlotte who found my missing earring and mailed it to me in New York!

Room Tip: Be sure to check out the web site to see all of their rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for the review. We are all very happy your visit to the SW Michigan shore went so well. We have had a number of guests this year from outside the Midwest, and that always makes the atmosphere at our property even more interesting and fun. Also glad the earring made it home-- Charlotte is very good at finding lost or left behind items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Cute little place, everything looks new, centrally located, walking distance to everything. Staff very friendly. Breakfast not that great but we did wake up late-perhaps it was better earlier, no juice or anything to put in toaster provided but again we woke up late. Phenomenal toiletries, not that one stays for that reason, but the shower was huge and great, the room was clean-except for a Cheeto under the dresser!-and the only complaints we had were that the pillows were awful, really hard, and they were Laura Ashley too so they can't have been cheap, and the AC kept turning on and off all the time and had poor controls so we had to fiddle with it for a while so we could get a consistent blowing noise that wouldn't be distracting to sleep to. Otherwise great place! Loved orchid room.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamiamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecountryinn, Owner at Lake Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and thanks so much for the review. The orchid room is very comfortable, and also has a new 32" TV as of last month. Also, we try to encourage our guests to let our staff know, or contact us by phone or text, if they need anything during a visit. We have lots of pillows, and probably could have found one that was a better fit. We actually have some new Serta i comfort pillows with memory foam/gel that you might like for your next visit. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews