We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Place, I would definately stay here again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Grand Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Taylor, Michigan
2 reviews
“Beautiful Place, I would definately stay here again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Check in was very easy and Keenan was in a great mood. It's nice to be greeted by someone who loves their job and the company they work for. Very clean rooms and spacious areas. Love the fireplace! Can't wait to visit the cute little downtown tomorrow just down the street. What a great place! I LOVE the trendy room decor.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellady0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    73
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
76
104
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I realize that my previous review of Marina Grand was less than stellar, but this trip really made up for it 1000%.
Adam, the front desk clerk was a pleasure to talk to from the get go. He was helpful, informative, and funny.
We were coming in because my husband has a client in the area and would be working nearby for 2 days. Essentially, I would be stuck in the room for these 2 days. We had to book the least expensive room as it was on the company dime, but all I had to do was ask and Jasmine (the other front desk clerk) upgraded us to a 1 bedroom suite. She understood that we couldnt ask the company to pay the extra money for it, but it would be great to have since I'd be in the room most of the time. I also have to mention that my husband ended up working much later than expected on our check out day, and although check out is meant to be at 12 noon, they were so understanding, and happy to extend me the courtesy of checking out much later than that (5:30pm) at no additional charge. I'm not sure if they would have been okay with this were it not the "off season" and if the hotel were at capacity, but they were very accomodatiing this time, and I really appreciated it.

The rooms were nicer than I remembered. A lush down blanket covered the pillow top bed (I can't remember the last time I slept so well), the bath tub was nice and deep (perfect for a long bath), and the livingroom and kitchen had all we needed to make ourselves comfortable.
LOVE that the coffeeshop/ store downstairs served COMPLIMENTARY coffee and tea to hotel guests, and although I didn't take advantage of it this time, I LOVE that they have bottles of wine and other miscellaneous items for sale down there.
The first day of my stay, I ended up taking the FREE shuttle bus on over to the casino to donate a little money. When I somehow missed the bus, Adam called them up and they had no problem turning around to get me. It was door to door (pleasant) service, and I couldn't have asked for more.
Marina Grand is quickly becoming one of our "home away from home" type of vacation spots, and with the excellent service, I'm sure we'll be visiting here for years to come.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

First time staying at Marina Grand Resort....PERFECT! Standard Room on the 3rd floor overlooking Harbor....breathtaking views, very clean, king size Posturepedic Plush 4 Bed was extremely comfortable, huge bathroom, TV, Fireplace...nice bar and restaurant as well! What I liked is little town within walking distance with plenty of shops, Rosie's for Breakfast, Bruster's Italian Restorante for Dinner next to Fireplace, all on same block, plus, a perk was a Shuttle that picked us up and brought us back from Four Winds Casino, which was better than Las Vegas!!! What a wonderful time and place to vacation. We will be back soon! Recommend highly!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeabreezeDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

I stayed for 3 nights and overall I felt pretty good about the place. It is very comfortable and the people are very nice. There were a few minor things that I would change but it only impacted my first impression and the longer I stayed there the more I liked it. We stayed during the off season so I am not sure how expensive the rooms are during peak, but for an autumn stay it was very reasonable!! I would definitely stay there again.

positives:
-comfortable bed
-big bathroom!!
-nice harbor view with terrace
-fireplace
-Brentwood restaurant was very good for both dinner and brunch. It has a cozy atmosphere.
-cafe was nice too...with free coffee
-game room with ping pong
-wifi was perfect

negatives:
Note: we stayed in a double queen room
-no refrigerator
-only one little garbage can in the bathroom
-outlet for computer was hard to find/reach
-furniture was slightly outdated
-colors were not my style but everyone has their own taste
-mirror in the closet was a bit small/hard to see yourself in

So really, the negatives were not all that bad and after the first day I pretty much forgot about them anyway. It was really an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

A large sitting room with kitchen area and a large lovely bedroom got the "wow" reaction
but then discovering the second bathroom off the living space and opening the curtains to
overlook the Harbor sealed the "wow" feeling. Had the rooftop patio to ourselves for a
glass of wine at sundown. Dinner at the Bentwood Tavern in the hotel was first class. Fish perfectly cooked and salad and vegetables top notch. This hotel and the restaurant deserve
attention -- it was our best meal on our vacation -- and ranks right up there as one of the best
in 2010. We are pretty picky people and the Marina Grand passed with flying colors.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabbaticalPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Just came back from a 2 night stay with my husband. Was a bit pricey, paid over $550 for 2 nights in a double queen room since there were no kings left. Hotel was at capacity for the weekend.

Room was on the 3rd floor ( vaulted cielings) on the marina with an excellent view. Patio with 2 chairs and a table.... very nice for relaxing and drinking coffee. Beds were very comfortbale one of the best ive slept in and also had down comforters. Fire place in the room with flat screen tv and large bathroom. There lots of small things that made this place enjoyable......free bike rental for an hour (we used for over 2 and not a problem) free dvd player and large movie collection. Bath and Body soap and shampoo. Pool closed at 10 but they didnt come and lock it up right away which was nice. Free coffee for guests in the cafe downstairs. This hotel was right in the little downtown area and a great location. Brentwood rest in the hotel was nice a bit pricey. Also ate Dinner at Skips, yummy had a dinner buffet for 28$ per person since we had a resv at Timothys but the comp system was all messed up and pushed dinner resv back over an hour... Had massages at the Harbour Grand on sunday morning.....The front desk staff was sweet and helpful. They let us have a late check out at 2pm! Would def stay here again !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoMom1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Wow, stayed here with partner, and his sister and brother in law. Great repsort even in the off season., We enjoyed the outdoor and indoor pools, immaculate in cleanliness. The jaccuzi was so inviting. Rooftop deck was great for those morning coffees..............
Had dinner out, love Stray Dog, that was steps away as well as the Bentwood located directly in the resort, great food and service was excellent. For my money, I'll be back again and again. Ask for Rooms 122/123........they are decorated so homey.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeInnChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
0.3 mi away
The Harbor Grand
The Harbor Grand
#2 of 7 in New Buffalo
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
8.8 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#2 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Resort

Property: Marina Grand Resort
Address: 600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1903
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront boutique hotel for overnight and extended stay featuring luxury accommodations, highly personal service and unexpected touches. Amenities include waterfront dining, rooftop deck, swimming pools, game and fitness rooms. Complimentary bicycle and beach chair rentals. Walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. Wedding and conference facilities to 100. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Marina Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Hotel New Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing