We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night away with Gma!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Grand Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2009

Grandma took the girls (daughters and grand daughters) shopping to MI City and this is where we choose to stay the night before.

Very friendly front desk staff - wanted to explain everything to us and make sure we enjoyed our stay.

The hotel was very clean. Very long hallways. It was not busy at all. I can imagine that noise would be an issue with the bedroom doors etc when the resort is busy!

In New Buffalo we ate at Rosies, open for breakfast and lunch - very good. We also ate at a Mexican restaurant that was very good too.

New Buffalo is definitely a summer town...If you enjoy antiquing (or junk stores as I call them) there are a ton of them in the area!

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berly1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 283 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Marina Grand recently and we found it to be a great value. Our suite (#128) was very nicely decorated, had a well stocked full kitchen and a large wall mounted flat screen TV. We especially liked the king sized bed and the comforter. The view was terrific, all the rooms overlook the harbor. The staff was also very helpful. The restaurant located in the building, the Bentwood Tavern, had great food. We spent a little time at a new Casino, the Four Winds located nearby, which was very nice. We were very pleased and will be back soon for another weekend get away.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

My wife and I enjoy the harbor views and the sound in the distance of Lake Michigan waves rolling ashore. All the amenities in a terrific location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smoovee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Everything here is peaceful and clean. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly. The one bedroom suite looked just like the picture and had everything as far as amenities I could have asked for. The gas fireplace was lovely and the balcony romantic. Igot the best rate for the winter months (apparently not as much traffic in New Buffalo as in the summer) which was okay by me. If you have an urge for real action, just drive an hour to Chicago for the day as I did and then retreat back here for the rest of the weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2009

My husband and I, along with some friends, visited the Marina Grand just for a little weekend getaway. We have stayed at the hotels sister property, the Harbor Grand, and overall preferred the Marina Grand. We really enjoyed several amenities: a wonderful dinner at the hotel’s restaurant the Bentwood Tavern, complimentary breakfast at Joe (great coffee), and a fantastic one-bedroom suite. It was cold and snowy outside, so not needing to leave the hotel was perfect for us. We were very pleased with our room: a nicely stocked kitchen (plenty of wine glasses, plates, etc), living room with fireplace, very comfortable bed, and a large bathroom with an amazing deep soaker tub.

The only issue was that the hotel was a bit noisy (we could hear people staying in the room above walking around and clearly hear people in the hallway). In regards to noise, the Harbor Grand beats the Marina Grand. There seemed to be more families with small children (literally) running around at the Marina Grand vs. at the Harbor Grand where there seemed to be more couples on a romantic getaway. Noise aside, the amenities overall do make your stay a bit more carefree at the Marina Grand, especially during the winter when you are not as interested in exploring outside.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlayaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

I love this hotel. Great service and wonderful rooms. I stay there every time I go to New Buffalo. We stayed in Room 242 last time and it was great.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eabdishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Marina Grand Hotel in New Buffalo over the weekend of October 17th. The purpose of our visit was to experience the fall colors and get out of Chicago for a few days. The location of the hotel is great, right on the harbor and easy walking distance to downtown New Buffalo and the beach. I had read reviews re: the service and noise level at the hotel after I booked it (not like me, I usually check before booking) so I was apprehensive as we entered the lobby to check in. I am happy to report I was pleasantly surprised with the front desk associates, they were friendly, engaging, and helpful. We arrived at noon, knowing that check in was not until 4:00pm we expected to be told to come back at 4. Maybe because it was off-season, our room was ready 4 hours early! I told Holli at the front desk that it was our anniversary and she spent several minutes reviewing the restaurant choices in the area with me so that we could have a nice dinner. The room was very nice, we stayed on the first floor in a 1 BDR suite in room 138 and the view of the marina was gorgeous, especially at night. The room was spacious, clean, well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were of good quality. The bathroom was very large, marble tile, soaking tub and rainhead shower. After unpacking we headed to the beach to explore and watch the sunset. When we returned there was a bottle of champagne and a card from Holli at the front desk wishing us a Happy Anniversary! What a nice thing to do, totally unexpected. Many people on this site have mentioned the paper thin walls and noise level, so I should comment on it. I do think that for the price you would expect to be able to sleep in if you want to but you should know the construction of this hotel does not lend itself to late sleepers, as you can hear everything in the adjoining rooms. We had a family with kids who awoke at 6:15am and we heard them loud and clear. Thankfully, they either fell back asleep or left the room because the noise died down and we were able to go back to sleep. Other than that - it is a great place, we will definitely return. Breakfast was included in our rate, and it was just OK. It included 1 egg dish and an assortment of pasteries, dry cereal, coffee, juice, and limited fruit.

Stayed: October 2008
Thank keinchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
Blue Chip Casino Hotel Spa
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
653 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 8 in New Buffalo
136 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Blue Heron Inn
The Blue Heron Inn
#6 of 7 in LaPorte
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Resort

Address: 600 W Water St, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1903
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range: $131 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront boutique hotel for overnight and extended stay featuring luxury accommodations, highly personal service and unexpected touches. Amenities include waterfront dining, rooftop deck, swimming pools, game and fitness rooms. Complimentary bicycle and beach chair rentals. Walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. Wedding and conference facilities to 100. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Hotel New Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing