We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Weekend Getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Grand Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Grand Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

The room was very clean, and the hotel was pleasant. I was disappointed with the lack of room service, we have stayed at the Harbor Grand where breakfast in your room is included, and I wish the Marina Grand had a similar service, even if there was a charge for it. The balconies in the rooms are very nice, and we would have enjoyed eating breakfast out there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eforris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    77
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
81
111
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

About one hour outside metro Chicago, stayed here for a weekend getaway and winery tour. From the outside this hotel looks unremarkable, and then, the minute you walk in you experience a beautiful lobby and warm service from a great staff. The rooms are an excellent blend of modern and quaint. With decks overlooking the marina, it is a very peaceful experience. The restaurant is fantastic, for breakfast, lunch, dinner, or just drinks, it was a pleasant surprise. There is also a great coffee shop/deli which serves excellent coffee products, baked goods, and snacks. This is a tremendous property that I will definately return to in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saiklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at the Marina Grand with my sisters to catch up and relax which we did. Check in was hassle free and fast. Room was clean and had a harbor view with balcony and fireplace in the room. We wanted to check out the Michigan wineries which we did with the help of directions from the front desk. Overall our visit was great, will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMD053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I stayed at Marina Grand Thur-Monday with my sisters and my mom so we could get away, relax, enjoy good food and catch up.
We had a great experience checking in with Keenan. He told us about everything that was happening in the area.
We were able to do everything we wanted! Stayed in and played games in the evening, walked into town in the morning and went on short trips during the day to local places.
The resort is perfect-- location is fun-- right on the marina. There is much to offer right on the resort: balcony for sunrises, rooftop for sunsets, Ben&Jerrys on demand, Free coffee and great onsite restaurant. Close to town and Amtrak station.
we loved it and will be back!!!

Room Tip: room on the corners are quiet and get great sunshine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank techmom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Great (albeit too short) stay for a friend's wedding. Great size room that was clean with strong internet and awesome balcony overlooking the marina. Modern lobby with good energy and attentive staff. First trip to New Buffalo. Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Ok the good first. The final suite we were given was clean and very nicely decorated with a beautiful view. Now the reason I shall never return. First they seem to have a bait and switch routine. Book and pay immediately on line see a beautiful suite. Arrive and get a room at the Harbor Grand- Harbor Grand and Marina Grand are next door to each other and share an owner. The room at Harbor Grand had dirty, stained bedspreads, a sliding door that opened to a ledge with a metal rail and was very stinky. GROSS! When we said the room wasn't what we saw on line we were told we could 1. Have them bring us a refrigerator since we had booked a suite. When we said we would just leave we were offered a move to the Marina Grand. I should say the young man at Harbor Grand was very polite and tried to make us happy. Although, I think they have a script for this bait and switch routine. He said he would call ahead and we would have no problem with our check in at Marina Grand we had already paid but would need to register there. When we got to the Marina Grand we got a snotty girl who demanded we pay again. Despite stating what we were told by the last clerk she basically acted like we were lying and demanded we pay again. So currently awaiting a promised refund since we had to pay twice. Plus they told me they would hold a card for incidentals but they did actually charge 60.00 on it and we had no incidental expenses. Awaiting a refund. At Marina Grand the lobby is clean and upscale looking. Walk out of the lobby to dirty halls, smelly stained carpet, hot- they did have the air on- set at 77 in the halls on a hot day. The long halls were horrible smelling with large windows that needed to be cleaned. On a weekend get away I wanted relaxation and fun. The hour of check in, the need to enforce that we expected the room we saw on line and the requirement that we pay twice, plus the dirty stinky halls and elevator was the low point of an otherwise nice get away. Even though the views at Marina Grand are lovely and the room we finally got was great the hassle was just not worth it. And seriously clean the halls, windows and elevators and remove the stained stinky carpets. Its a beautiful location. oh and lose the bait and switch routine people would love it.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel even though the location is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Love the location of Marina Grand Resort! There are so many nice shops and restaurants in New Buffalo, with the Marina Grand Resort being walking distance from them. We were also in walking distance from the beach there.
We stayed in a one bedroom suite which had plenty of space as well as a small kitchen that was very nice. We also enjoyed relaxing on the patio with a good view of the marina. The sister property (Harbor Grand) was very nice too. We had a wonderful dinner at the Terrace Room which was very cozy and comfortable. There was a nice fireplace near our table too.
If you like to gamble, the Four Winds Casino is a short distance away too. The casino is very Las Vegas like, except without the free drinks. You can also get a free shuttle to and from the casino and the Marina Grand Resort if you have some adult beverages.
We can't wait to visit the Marina Grand Resort again soon! Highly recommend to stay at this wonderful property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artangel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
8.8 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
23.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Grand Resort

Property: Marina Grand Resort
Address: 600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1903
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront boutique hotel for overnight and extended stay featuring luxury accommodations, highly personal service and unexpected touches. Amenities include waterfront dining, rooftop deck, swimming pools, game and fitness rooms. Complimentary bicycle and beach chair rentals. Walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. Wedding and conference facilities to 100. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marina Grand Hotel New Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing