We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bentwood Tavern

Bentwood Tavern
600 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117
+1 269-469-1699
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bentwood Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Berrien
Description: Chef Jenny Drilon's sophisticated spin on pub fare, responsibly sourced and beautifully prepared. A warm, friendly gathering place featuring eight Michigan craft beers on tap and a curated wine list. Waterfront dining with outdoor seating available whenever weather allows. Lunch and dinner daily, with brunch from 9am on weekends. Please be advised that the restaurant is operating on Eastern Standard Time.
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The food and drink was very good, but because of the size and make-up of the room, it was a little noisy. Had the salmon simply grilled and it was delicious!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank melnmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    117
    27
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Attentive service and good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Ate here with friends on a Friday night. The restaurant was busy and had a lively atmosphere. Many of us had the individual pizzas which were generously sized and very good. Our waitress was friendly and helpful and gave us ideas for continuing our ladies' night out. The manager was attentive and friendly as well. It is very conveniently located inside the Marina Grand Resort.

Helpful?
Thank PMath5516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“View, Food, Drinks, Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had fish tacos for lunch that were so delicious. Also had one of their $10 martinis made with pomegrant juice. Worth taking a trip to New Buffalo for lunch or dinner and brunch on the weekends. In good weather you can be outside on their patio. Prices are a little high, but worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BECKY6067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first time at this restaurant. The ambience was lively and cheerful with tasteful nautical decor. We had a great waitress who anticipated our needs and was patient while we had trouble deciding what to order because several things sounded good. There was a variety of prices from medium priced on up. If you go during daylight there is an excellent view of the harbor.

We both ordered off the specials menu. I had the walleye and my husband had the flounder. We aren't big fish eaters but it sounded good and we were so glad we did. There wasn't a fishy taste to any of it. It was perfectly done. The sides were delicious too! For dessert we had the profiteroles with vanilla ice cream and hot fudge, awesome! This was one of the best meals we've had in a long time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We used to dine at Jenny's restaurant years ago on red arrow highway and had no idea that she was at bentwood tavern. The place has a great bar and once we got seated the food was wonderful. We went on a Saturday in the middle of October not thinking we needed a reservation, wrong! We waited about an hour at the bar which we were told it would take that long but we didn't care. The food and dessert were outstanding and can't wait to go again.

Helpful?
Thank Gina124331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentwood Tavern also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Bentwood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing