We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“View, Food, Drinks, Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bentwood Tavern

Bentwood Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Bentwood Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Berrien
Description: Chef Jenny Drilon's sophisticated spin on pub fare, responsibly sourced and beautifully prepared. A warm, friendly gathering place featuring eight Michigan craft beers on tap and a curated wine list. Waterfront dining with outdoor seating available whenever weather allows. Lunch and dinner daily, with brunch from 9am on weekends. Please be advised that the restaurant is operating on Eastern Standard Time.
MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“View, Food, Drinks, Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I had fish tacos for lunch that were so delicious. Also had one of their $10 martinis made with pomegrant juice. Worth taking a trip to New Buffalo for lunch or dinner and brunch on the weekends. In good weather you can be outside on their patio. Prices are a little high, but worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BECKY6067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    128
    30
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first time at this restaurant. The ambience was lively and cheerful with tasteful nautical decor. We had a great waitress who anticipated our needs and was patient while we had trouble deciding what to order because several things sounded good. There was a variety of prices from medium priced on up. If you go during daylight there is an excellent view of the harbor.

We both ordered off the specials menu. I had the walleye and my husband had the flounder. We aren't big fish eaters but it sounded good and we were so glad we did. There wasn't a fishy taste to any of it. It was perfectly done. The sides were delicious too! For dessert we had the profiteroles with vanilla ice cream and hot fudge, awesome! This was one of the best meals we've had in a long time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We used to dine at Jenny's restaurant years ago on red arrow highway and had no idea that she was at bentwood tavern. The place has a great bar and once we got seated the food was wonderful. We went on a Saturday in the middle of October not thinking we needed a reservation, wrong! We waited about an hour at the bar which we were told it would take that long but we didn't care. The food and dessert were outstanding and can't wait to go again.

Helpful?
Thank Gina124331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Bentwood Tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great food and killer vodka martinis in a nice atmosphere. May dine al fresco, weather permitting. Wood-fired pizza, good salads, and salmon. Definitely make a reservation if you are going on a weekend night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deb1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sea Bass 'Swonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Chef Jenny has been offering Chilean sea bass on the first Friday of each month for some time. This visit was our fourth visit, and the food was as terrific as it always has been. Located in the Marina Grand, a very nice and clean condo-hotel on Lake Michigan, we were greeted warmly and drinks were served as we waited. Reservations were full, but we waited thirty minutes and the wait was well worth it. Although the kitchen was busy, we were served promptly with great service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HoosierJKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentwood Tavern also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Bentwood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing