We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bentwood Tavern

Bentwood Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Bentwood Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Berrien
Description: Chef Jenny Drilon's sophisticated spin on pub fare, responsibly sourced and beautifully prepared. A warm, friendly gathering place featuring eight Michigan craft beers on tap and a curated wine list. Waterfront dining with outdoor seating available whenever weather allows. Lunch and dinner daily, with brunch from 9am on weekends. Please be advised that the restaurant is operating on Eastern Standard Time.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We used to dine at Jenny's restaurant years ago on red arrow highway and had no idea that she was at bentwood tavern. The place has a great bar and once we got seated the food was wonderful. We went on a Saturday in the middle of October not thinking we needed a reservation, wrong! We waited about an hour at the bar which we were told it would take that long but we didn't care. The food and dessert were outstanding and can't wait to go again.

Helpful?
Thank Gina124331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    119
    29
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Bentwood Tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great food and killer vodka martinis in a nice atmosphere. May dine al fresco, weather permitting. Wood-fired pizza, good salads, and salmon. Definitely make a reservation if you are going on a weekend night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deb1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sea Bass 'Swonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Chef Jenny has been offering Chilean sea bass on the first Friday of each month for some time. This visit was our fourth visit, and the food was as terrific as it always has been. Located in the Marina Grand, a very nice and clean condo-hotel on Lake Michigan, we were greeted warmly and drinks were served as we waited. Reservations were full, but we waited thirty minutes and the wait was well worth it. Although the kitchen was busy, we were served promptly with great service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HoosierJKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I had dinner there on Sunday Sept 30th and as always had a wonderful dining experience! I had the duck and my wife had the seared scallops. Our server was Elisha and she was delightful and charming! Thanks for a wonderful experience and we will be back in New Buffalo in January.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely slow service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went in for lunch today. We were seated at a dirty table even though there were plenty of clean, empty tables available. We waited 20 minutes to place our order. Twenty minutes later we still were not served even though other folks who were seated after us had been served. After 45 minutes still no food...and we had just ordered salads. Finally walked out and had a great lunch at Nanis cafe in union pier

Helpful?
5 Thank mdemko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bentwood Tavern also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Bentwood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing