We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your average corporate hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18830 Harbor Country Road, New Buffalo, MI 49117   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in New Buffalo
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Your average corporate hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I arrived at check-in time and was promptly registered and given a room key. The room was clean and it was pretty quiet.

This is a 3 story building with one row of rooms on the opposite side of the hotel. I was in the hotel proper with only 1 working ice machine for the whole place. This place is very expensive on the weekends and during high season.

You may want to research other places before paying $160 per night for a room with a single bed.

The breakfast was the typical pre-cooked and catered in eggs and sausage and make your own waffle bar. Nothing special or even very good.

The location is close to the highway and the casino but nothing else is within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reg-Mur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    18
    10
    18
See reviews for
26
47
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
308 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This could be the worst hotels my wife and I have ever stayed at. Not only was it a substandard property, but for the most part the staff was rude and not helpfull.
While the initial impression of the hotel was that is was clean, I soon found out that was wrong. The carpet in the lobby and elevator was badly stained. The room was clean at least the first night. Housekeeping did not make our bed or give us clean glasses for the 2nd day. The excuse was that the guest made the bed. My wife did not throw the bedspread on the floor so I guess that I'd call that making the bed.
There are so many other properties in that price range nearby, stay at any one of them. Not worth the price no matter how cheap.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CubFan1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Buffalo hotels

Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were traveling from the Traverse City area back home to Illinois and stayed at the Comfort Inn. We are seniors and were hoping for a decent rate but ended up paying $172.80 for a room with a moldy shower curtain, very rough towels, and a very old blanket and bed coverings. The lobby decor was filled with large vases stuffed with ugly plastic flowers. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I made a reservation with this property a month ago for $85 per night. We thought that rate included a senior discount which was requested by my husband. We just ended a call with a guest relations supervisor, named Dan, who advised us that a senior discount had not been applied and will not be applied. In fact, the rate for the same date, August 1, 2013, is now listed at $180. Dan was extremely indifferent and tried to tell us that we received a negotiated price from $180 to $85. Liar. The Comfort Inn website consistently showed a price of $90 throughout the month and only the last 2 or 3 days, listed a rate of $180. These people, supervisor Dan, guest relations rep, Donna, and 2 of the laziest reservation reps I have encountered, were not at all embarrassed by this price gouging practice. The location of this property and the property itself does not warrant a near 100% markup. Our reservation is only for one night so we will keep it for the $85 rate. I will revisit this site if we receive less than stellar service. If the service is exceptional, I will never say another word about this organization because we will never do business with it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsT907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Buffalo
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

All in all the hotel was good. The room was clean and comfy. The carpet in reception could do with a clean - there were some stains but since you just pass through here its not a big deal. This is a great location for a drive into New Buffalo which is a really picturesque town on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Had a lovely trip to New Buffalo and the Comfort Inn was close to the beach and convenient. The older woman that assisted us initially was fabulous and very helpful..the other employee that was there had her daughter at work with her and she sat on the computer all day. Was there when we left to go to the beach and was there at 9 pm still. The rooms were comfortable and clean...breakfast was good. Overall would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Clean and comfortable. We were looking for a spot to stay after a long drive from Iowa. We decided on New Buffalo. The Comfort Inn isn't fancy, but it is clean. Very affordable. Just down the road from the beach. The staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1982PandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Harbor Grand
The Harbor Grand
#2 of 7 in New Buffalo
4.5 of 5 stars 280 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marina Grand Resort
Marina Grand Resort
#3 of 7 in New Buffalo
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
9.1 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 18830 Harbor Country Road, New Buffalo, MI 49117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in New Buffalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel New Buffalo
Rodeway Inn New Buffalo
New Buffalo Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing