We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might as well check it out”
Review of Redamak's Tavern

Redamak's Tavern
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Redamak's " The Tradition Continues!!" July 15 , 2015 marks the Maroney Family's 40th year in business. Please note that the original owners George and Gladys Redamak started the tavern back in 1946! Our Specialty "The Hamburger that made New Buffalo, Michigan Famous!!" Freshly Cut , ground and pattied in our Kitchen 7 days a week. Featuring our Famous Working Person's Special Monday thru Friday along with daily menu features. Simple-Local-Fresh, utilizing locally grown Michigan products. Serving bottle and draft craft,domestic and imported beers. As well as a fine selection of wine and liquor. Shakes , smoothies, and Coke products round out our beverage selection. So without further ado, Come On Bite into a Legend!!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Might as well check it out”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is "the place that made New Buffalo famous." I like the joint overall, but I do believe it is a little over rated. The prices aren't bad, but they're also not great. 2 burgers, fries, and 2 drinks + tip came out to about $32. The burgers are good and the systematic organization of the hostesses and seatings is very impressive. Overall, if you have a taste for a burger and the wait is under 25 mins, I'd stop here every time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BujTravels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    184
    134
    49
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good burger”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Sunday around 5, probably not the best time as it was PACKED to the gills with kids.. We thought it was going to be more of a bar feel, we were mistaken, our misunderstanding. Very loud, very crazy... Which is fine, just maybe should have gone later.. Burger was good, not life-changing. Sloppy fries are seriously amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eag17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Times”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Have been passing this place for years on our annual Michigan vacations but finally went for the first time last summer. We have young teens and like casual, family-friendly places with a little atmosphere. While I wouldn't go out of my way for the food, my family really enjoyed the ambiance and the prices are reasonable.

We got there at about 6:50 p.m. and although the place was fairly full, we didn't have to wait for a table at all. So maybe it's best to go a little later like we did.

The regular burger is not large and it is greasy, but in a good-tasting way. The crinkle-cut fries are nothing special. The soft drinks are very large and the beer prices are good though they could use a wider selection.

Our boys were a bit too old to care about this, but they have two arcade game rooms if you have little ones who get bored easily. There's also several rooms to choose from for seating.

Overall, a good time in a friendly place with fun decor and above average food. If I could give 3 1/2 stars, that's what I'd do.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank croweli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury
Level Contributor
135 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

When traveling thru we stop there. Good food, good service, good prices. clean and friendly. needs to open before noon though.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Joseph, MI
Level Contributor
105 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I like Redamak's but tonight we walked out. It's summer and a busy time so when we walked in (three adults) they said go to the back and they'll seat you. I've sat in the back area before but tonight it was extremely loud - louder than usual. There were lots of tables of kids with parents and they were having fun, which is great. But, the staff didn't say anything about the back area being a little more noisy than usual. We sat for a while and decided we wouldn't enjoy ourselves so we left. When we left the staff didn't ask why we were leaving and we didn't say why.

This may sound like we expected to be treated special - no, we didn't. What I hoped for was a little consideration and there was none. I'm sure we'll go back but it may be a while.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cameraguy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redamak's Tavern also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to Redamak's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing