We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On The Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stray Dog Bar & Grill

The Stray Dog Bar & Grill
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Canton, OH
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“On The Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Closest location to the Lake.
Took forever to get our food, but the computers went down, (we were told)
Rueben was good, but short on meat.
Very noisy but lost of families. need better accoustics!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    288
    77
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks and atmosphere- in a resort town, who knew?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Loved our dinner at the Stray Dog. Check in for a table of 7 and they text you when ready. Really easy. Didn't wait more than 20 minutes on a Friday night. Waitress knew her stuff and didn't rush us. Drinks were nice including a broad selection on tap. Food well prepared, tasty and filling. Everyone there seemed like they were on vacation which added to the relaxed atmosphere. Liked it so much we (literally) bought the t- shirt.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mills93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“lunch after the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is my 3rd time here but the 1st time since it's been rebuilt. I think it is beautiful and love sitting on the roof. Last time my meal was okay. But, this time I tried the chicken casear wrap and it was very tasty! The cucumber martini was good too! Will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank quotebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
680 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place is open after a rebuilt facility replaced the burned out structure. We did not visit after the fire, but it looks like it did before the fire--beautiful structure. I had a pizza, but my wife reported the burger was great. Pizza was okay, but probably to go with the burger would be my recommendation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Finally we got to try this restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We vacationed in the area last summer and wanted to eat at the Stray Dog then but a fire had completely destroyed it then. On our way through New Buffalo on our way to visit my sister in the Detroit area, we decided to stop at the Stray Dog for lunch. We sat on the rooftop which was wonderful. The weather was so nice ans the view was fantastic! Our children are adults ans aw have done our time with kids in restaurants. We liked the fact that we could avoid families with kids on the 21 and older only rooftop. I had a southwestern chicken ranch salad which was a bit spicey but very yummy! My husband had a cheeseburger and fries. He said it was very tastey and cooked perfectly. I would recommend The Stray Dog for the great service, good food, and neat atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryBeth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stray Dog Bar & Grill also viewed

New Buffalo, Berrien County
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 
New Buffalo, Berrien County
 

Been to The Stray Dog Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing