We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
209
108
25
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
209
108
25
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast in bedbreakfast basketpicnic basketbreakfast deliveredlake michiganfire pitben and jerry's ice creamterrace roomwithin walking distancesmall hoteloff seasonprairie styleharbor view kingget awayfrank lloyd wrightfree dvdsoutdoor seating
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 354 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2010

This was our second stay at HG, and they did not disappoint!service was great, room was clean and everything was JUST RIGHT. Only two negative comments I would make have to do with value.
1) the restaurant meals seem a bit overpriced for the quality and amount of food you get, so I would probably consider another choice for dinner (Stray Dog, Casey's, etc.)

2) even though we love the hotel and its services, it is a bit pricy. I think a perfect price point would be in the $130-150/night range, not $200+

We will definitely be on the lookout for deals and coupons, and will come back!!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My husband and I just returned from a one night stay in the Harbor View King. We have never stayed at this hotel and I must say it was a great location with a nice view of the water and within walking distance to the beach. We took beautiful pictures of the sunset. The hotel room was nice with a fireplace next to the bed and a whirlpool tub along with a nice shower. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. It was our 24th year Anniversary and we usually stay in south Haven area at a Bed and Breakfast for the weekend but our schedule would not allow this. I wanted somewhere close and still on the beach. We were very pleased and will make this our little get away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nsummer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Harbor Grand for our anniversary last weekend for one night. The hotel is tastefully decorated & clean. We had a harbor view, king room on the top level with a jetted tub. Enjoyed the proximity to the downtown shops and restaurants. We walked to dinner and took the complementary bikes to the public beach.
On Friday night, we returned to our room at 9:30 and inquired about the wine/cheese and crackers combination that is offered on their website. We were told that the sister hotel (The Marina Grand) prepares this combination and the kitchen was closed. It was suggested that we visit the tavern downstairs for a drink. The bar had an hour until closing time and the bartender had a bit of an attitude while serving our $4 beer and $4.50 mixed drink. We really wanted to celebrate our special night with wine and snacks (as we were famished by this point) so we purchased a bottle of wine from the bartender. We called the front desk to inquire about snack food and her only suggestion was the vending machines. We followed the signs to "VENDING" in our hall, only to find an ice machine on one level and a pepsi machine on the other. The sole vending machine is all the way on the other side of the hotel, near the pool. The closest thing to pretzels or crackers were cheese nips. All junk food. My advice: bring your own snacks.
In summary, the hotel is clean & lovely but my bill for one night, including tax was $398. Not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bisou1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Beautiful hotel overlooking the marina and just steps from the beach. Friendly staff. Hotel provides beach chairs and towels to take to the beach and complimentary bike rental. Walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. My kids loved the indoor pool, 24 hour Ben & Jerry ice cream and the free DVD rental. Breakfast was included too! High quality accommodations (flat screen tvs, dual showers, etc). Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Augusttravel1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

About 3 times a years we meet with friends from Michigan in a central area (we are from Illinois). This time we decided to stay at the Harbor Grand Hotel and were very pleased.
The desk clerk was wonderful - informed us of everything that was offered through the hotel: free parking, free bike rental, free Beer and Wine in the Mitten wine tasting, continental breakfast delivered to your room (you choose what you want), free dvds available (good current choices), Ben and Jerry's ice cream (reasonably priced) delivered to you room or picked up at the desk after 10pm, and on weather permitting evenings free roasting marshmallows/making smores on the patio.
To add to this we had a village view suite which had 2 rooms (living room and bedroom)- each with a flat screen tv and dvd player, a refrigerator, and a walk-in shower with 2 shower heads!
We and our friends decided this is the place for us. It is walking distance to the beach and all the stores and restaurants. Super quiet, great bed and nice people...who could ask for more.
One more thing - eat at the Stray Dog restaurant and make sure you visit their gift shop (great shirts, sweat shirts and more).

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmgfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews