We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very cozy hotel with a staff that goes above and beyond to please!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harbor Grand

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Buffalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harbor Grand
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in New Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Minooka, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very cozy hotel with a staff that goes above and beyond to please!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

What a nice place! Everything was very clean and the hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay (it was not difficult as we were one of the only couples there). The area is wonderful and all of the ammenities are great! Some of the highlights for us were the 24-hour Ben and Jerrys delivered to your room and a breakfast brought right to your door in a charming picnic basket!! The night before you fill out exactly what you want and at what time...very nice complimentary touch! The pool was slightly cold but the hot tub worked just fine. A regular room is a two room suite with two tvs, a couch, and spa shower. All in all a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesteve8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    94
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
63
171
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

I have visited the Harbor Grand twice this year. My first visit was with my daughter and two young grandchildren. We stayed in a two room suite and it suited us just fine: room with a tv and couch and a separate room for sleeping. Our expectations were for comfort and clean and those were met.

Second visit was in October when I met with a friend who lives in Michigan and we had a girlfriends visit. Harbor View, two double beds..quite comfortable and fresh..and breakfast in bed. The staff was friendly but not overly so...I think that if I had come with my spouse with the intention of a romantic visit, I would have been sorely disappointed.

The interior needs attention and cleaning.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

We arrived without a reservation on a very wet, cold rainy night. The Harbor Grand staff could not have been nicer. We went for the handicap room with two queen beds next to the elevator equipment as it was a larger room. We heard a little noise but nothing to complain about. The beds were comfortable and the linens excellent. The shower was huge with good water pressure. The food and service in the lounge were also good. Breakfast was served in a basket the next morning. It was actually nice to eat in the room without having to get dressed. Overall a nice place to stay.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

Touring through the lower Michigan area adjacent Lake Michigan we needed accommodations for the night. There are many B & B's around there, but this WATERFRONT Hotel has them all beat! New as of 2005 this 4 start hotel's rooms have fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, great comfortable beds, flat panel Tv, mini frig, and a wonderrful view right on the harbor overlooking the marina. There is a restaurant , pool and jacuzzi too! Free Wifi - a must- is included! A morning breakfast picnic basket is also included. No reservation & midweek we got a great rate!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geekacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

We stayed here on a Sunday night using their promotional special (about $150, half of what it costs in the summer). We thought the hotel was OK, but not worth the money.

Pros: location is great. If they open the Amtrak station across the street, it will be even better for Chicago travelers. Rooms are nice and quiet and breakfast delivered to your room is a nice bonus. The bikes you can rent for free are fun to ride around town.

Cons: Staff was just OK. When I pay this much, I like to get recommendations. We felt bad for another couple checking out when we were - they asked about local wineries. The front desk couldn't give any recommendations, which is a shame since many people visit the area for wineries (we helped them out as we frequent them). Room view was of the harbor, but no outdoor deck or anything. Loud noises in the morning from deliveries to the restaurant. Workout room is LITTLE - one bike and one treadmill and a little weight machine. The staff really, really lacked information on the local area. We asked for the hours of a wine store across the street from the property and the front desk staff person said he had never heard of it and didn't know the hours!! It's across the street! That was really the biggest disappointment - lack of local knowledge by the staff.

Room - The room was nice with a fireplace and jacuizzi tub, but it wasn't as big as I thought it would be. Small table in the corner, mini fridge, no microwave.

We've stayed at the sister property - Marina Grand - before for the same price and were blown away by the rooms and service. We felt the Harbor Grand was just OK.
We would not stay again, but would stay at Marina Grand again. Marina Grand is more modern, but we felt the staff knew more there and the rooms were much bigger with full size kitchens, living areas, etc.

To the hotel manager: I highly recommend you work with your staff on educating them on local events and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willgly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

We have stayed at the Harbor Grand numerous times and we have never been disappointed. Our last visit was in August. The hotel was booked to capacity but still service was outstanding and our room was very quiet. It is a beautiful hotel with all the amenities you could ask for. We have always had a harbor view room which offers a great view of the harbor and the lake. The hotel is right in town and there are many restaurants nearby. The Stray Dog is a favorite of ours. If you are looking for a romantic week-end getaway the Harbor Grand is the place. We wish the bar area was open later than 10:00 p.m. Also the bartender didn't know how to make a martini which we thought was odd. We can overlook that considering how great everything else was.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Col515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on a Friday/Saturday. This was our second time we stayed at Harbor Grand. We like this hotel because it is small and located so close to town and the beach. The services provided are wonderful: breakfast basket, free bikes and beach chairs. The staff is VERY kind and friendly. When booking this time, I thought I booked a whirlpool room, but when we arrived and saw the room, it was a village view suite with just a tub/shower. The front desk kindly switched us without a question and they were very accomodating. The only downside is the cost... but you get what you pay for...This hotel has the service of a bed/breakfast! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank techmom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Buffalo
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites New Buffalo
1.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 7 in New Buffalo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
9.1 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#3 of 16 in Michigan City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
11.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Michigan City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Grand

Property: The Harbor Grand
Address: 111 West Water Street, New Buffalo, MI 49117-1907 (Formerly Harbor Grand Hotel)
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > New Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in New Buffalo
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Buffalo
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service boutique hotel on the New Buffalo harbor. Waterfront rooms include luxury bedding, fireplaces and whirlpool baths. Indoor pool, massage therapy and waterfront dining. Complimentary breakfast in bed and bike rentals. Short walk to Lake Michigan beach and downtown shops and restaurants. Weddings and meetings for up to 75. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Harbor Grand Hotel New Buffalo
Harbor Grand New Buffalo
Harbor Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing